Home > Current Affairs > National > Krishna got Sangita Kalanidhi & Prasad received Nritya Kalanidhi Award

Krishna got Sangita Kalanidhi & Prasad received Nritya Kalanidhi Award

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 20-03-2024
Krishna got Sangita Kalanidhi & Prasad received Nritya Kalanidhi Award Award and Honour 5 min read

On 17 March 2024, renowned Carnatic musician T M Krishna has been selected for the 2024 Sangita Kalanidhi. While Neena Prasad has been selected for the Nritya Kalanidhi Award for 2024.

  • The Executive Committee of the Sangeet Academy decided to give him this award in its meeting on March 17, 2024.

He will be honored by The Music Academy, Madras:

  • He will be honored with the prestigious Sangita Kalanidhi Award by The Music Academy, Madras.
  • The news about the award was given to TM Krishna by Music Academy President N Murali.

For which work did he receive the award?

  • Krishna was given this honor for doing many remarkable works in the field of music.
  • Sri Krishna is an author who has written analytical books on music. Krishna has received numerous awards for his music, his writing and his advocacy of social issues.

About TM Krishna:

  • TM Krishna, famous Carnatic singer and also a Magsaysay Award winner.
  • TM Krishna has been a top-ranked and extremely talented musician for a long time. Krishna really deserves an award for his music. 
  • The Music Academy has considered it appropriate to honor him with the award on the basis of excellence in music. TM Krishna performs at Tyagaraja's memorial once a year.
  • He learned the musical art from Acharyas BS Sarma and C Ranganathan before coming under the tutelage of SS Iyer.
  • Krishna, a student of SS Iyer, said that Sangita Kalanidhi is undoubtedly a very important award in the Carnatic music world.

Among recipients of the Sangita Kalanidhi Award before TM Krishna:

  • Sangita Kalanidhi Award recipients include:  
    • Semmangudi Srinivas Iyer, 
    • T Brinda, 
    • M.S. Subbulakshmi.
  • Krishna has written a book on MS Subbulakshmi titled 'Sebastian and Sons: A Brief History of Mridangam Makers'.

Sangita Kala Acharya Award to Ravi and Geeta Raja:

  • Sangita Kala Acharya Awards will be presented to mridangam maestro Parasala Ravi and singer Geeta Raja.

TTK Awards:

  • The TTK awards, given under the Karnataka Music Awards, will be given to Thiruvaiyaru brothers S Narasimhan and S Venkatesan. He is associated with the Tyagaraja music tradition.
  • Another artiste to receive the award is violinist HK Narasimhamurthy.
  • The Musicianship Award will be given to Dr. Margaret Bastin.

Nritya Kalanidhi Award to Neena Prasad:

  • This year the Nritya Kalanidhi Award for 2024 will be given to Dr. Neena Prasad.
  • Prasad took training in Mohiniyattam from Kalamandalam Kshemavathi and Kalamandalam Sugandhi.
  • Prasad learned Bharat Natyam from Music Art Acharya Adyar's Lakshmanan, Kuchipudi from Vempati Chinna Satyam and Kathakali from Vembayam Appukuttan Pillai.
  • Prasad received his Ph.D. from Rabindra Bharati University for a thesis on Lasya and Thandava in South Indian classical dances.
  • Prasad was awarded a post-doctoral fellowship from the University of Surrey.

When will the various winners of Carnatic music be awarded?

  • Sangita Kalanidhi Award winners will be awarded at the 98th Annual Conference of the Sangeet Academy to be held between December 15, 2024 and January 1, 2025.
  • The TTK and Sangeet Awards will be presented at Sadas on January 1, 2025.
  • The Nritya Kalanidhi Award winner will receive the award at the 18th Annual Dance Festival of the Sangeet Academy on January 3, 2025.


Answer: TM Krishna

Answer: Dr Neena Prasad

Answer: Mridangam player Parasala Ravi and singer Geeta Raja.

Answer: The Musician Award will be given to Dr. Margaret Bastin.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.