Home > Current Affairs > National > Nayab Saini sworn in as the 11th Chief Minister of Haryana

Nayab Saini sworn in as the 11th Chief Minister of Haryana

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 13-03-2024
Nayab Saini sworn in as the 11th Chief Minister of Haryana Election 4 min read

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP ) leader Nayab Saini was sworn in as the 11th chief minister of Haryana on 12 March 2024. In a simple ceremony, the governor of Haryana Bandaru Dattatreya administered the oath of office to Nayab Saini.in Chandigarh. He replaces Manohar Lal Khattar, the first chief minister of Haryana to be from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Earlier in the day, Manohar Lal Khattar, who has been the chief minister of Haryana since 26  October 2014, submitted his resignation letter along with his council of ministers to the state Governor.  Manohar Lal Khattar headed a BJP -JJP coalition government in the state. On 12 March 2024, the  Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) led by Dusyant Chautala broke its alliance with the BJP in the state and after that, Manohar Lal Khattar resigned from his post.

Nayab Saini 

Nayab Saini is a BJP leader who belongs to the Other Backward Caste (OBC). He was born to a Saini family on January 25, 1970, in Mirzapur Majra in Ambala. He obtained his BA and LLB degrees from B.R. Ambedkar Bihar University in Muzaffarpur. He joined the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) and later joined the BJP.

In 2002, he was appointed president of the  Ambala district youth wing of the BJP. Nayab  Saini, in 2009, was appointed president of the state BJP's farmer wing.

 In 2014, he became an MLA from Narayangarh Vidhan Sabha. In  2016, he was appointed a  minister in the Manohar Lal Khattar government.

In 2019, he was elected as a Member of Parliament from Kurukshetra constituency. In 2023, he was appointed the head of the Haryana unit of the BJP.

Party Position in the Haryana Legislature 

The Haryana Legislative Assembly has a strength of 90 members. The BJP has 41 MLAs, supported by 5 independent MLAs and the Haryana Lokhit Party MLA Gopal Kanda.

Chief Minister of Haryana 

The state of Haryana was formed on 1 November 1996 after the enactment of the Punjab Reorganisation Act 1966.

  • The first chief minister of Haryana was Bhagwat Dayal Sharma of the Congress party.
  • The second chief minister was Rao Birender Singh 
  • The third chief minister was Bansi Lal 
  • The fourth chief minister was Banarsi Das Gupta 
  • The fifth chief minister was Devi Lal
  • The sixth chief minister was Bhajan Lal
  • The seventh chief minister was Om Prakash Cahutala 
  • The eighth chief minister was Hukam Singh 
  • The ninth chief minister was Bhupinder Singh Hooda 
  • The tenth chief minister was Manohar Lal Khattar


Answer: Nayab Saini of BJP. He replaced Manohar Lal Khattar.

Answer: Haryana. He was the 10th chief minister of Haryana

Answer: Bandaru Dattatreya
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.