Home > Current Affairs > International > Carlos Sainz wins Formula One Australian GP2024

Carlos Sainz wins Formula One Australian GP2024

Utkarsh Classes 27-03-2024
Carlos Sainz wins Formula One Australian GP2024 Sport 3 min read

Driver Carlos Sainz of the Ferrari team won the Australian Grand Prix Formula One (F1) race held in Melbourne on 24 March 2024. His fellow Ferrari teammate Charles Leclerc came second behind Carlos Sainz. World Champion and world number one Max Verstappen had to retire from the race due to his car's mechanical failure.

Spaniard Carlos Sainz's win in the Australian Grand Prix also ended the winning streak of World Champion Max Verstappen in the 2024 Formula One season. Verstappen, of the Red Bull team, has already won Bahrain and the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix this year.

Twenty-nine years, Carlos Sainz is the only driver to have beaten Red Bull since the Brazilian Grand Prix in November 2022. The Red Bull team of Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez has dominated the Formula One race in the past couple of years. 

Max Verstappen currently leads the 2024 Formula One championship's points table. Ferrari's Charles Leclerc is in second place.

Formula One Championship or F1

Formula One is a motor car racing championship organised by Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA).

It is motorsport's world governing body and the Federation of Mobility organisation.

In 1904, the FIA was set up to represent the interests of motoring organisations and motor car users.

In 1950, the FIA launched the Formula One Championship at the British Grand Prix in Silverstone. 

The 2024 Formula One championship consists of 24 Grand Prix. The driver who wins the maximum point is conferred the World Driver Championship.

Emilio Giuseppe Farina of Italy won the first World Driver Championship in 1950.

Micheal Schumacher of Germany and Lewis Hamilton of Britain have won the world driver championship seven times each.

Sebastian Vettel of Germany is the youngest winner of the world driver championship at the age of 23.

Max Verstappen is the current world driver champion. He has won the 2021,2022 and 2023 world driver championships.

Headquarters of Formula One: London, United Kingdom 

President and Chief Executive Officer of FIA: Stefano Domenicali


Answer: Carlos Sainz of the Ferrari team.

Answer: He is from Spain. He is a Formula One driver for the Ferrari motorsport team.

Answer: Max Verstappen of the Red Bull team.

Answer: Max Verstappen of the Red Bull team.

Answer: It is motor car racing.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.