Home > Current Affairs > National > The President will confer Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for 2022 & 2023

The President will confer Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for 2022 & 2023

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 06-03-2024
The President will confer Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for 2022 & 2023 Award and Honour 5 min read

President Droupadi Murmu will confer the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for the years 2022 and 2023 to a total of ninety-four eminent artists in New Delhi. 

  • These awards will be presented in recognition of outstanding contributions in the fields of music, dance, drama, folk and tribal arts, puppetry, and allied theatre art forms.
  • In addition to the Akademi Awards, President Murmu will also bestow the Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship (Akademi Ratna) to seven distinguished artists during the ceremony. The Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship is the highest honor given to distinguished artists in the field of performing arts for their outstanding contributions.
  • The Akademi Awards have been presented since 1952. 
  • These honors not only represent the highest standards of excellence and achievement, but also recognize sustained individual work and contribution. 
  • The Akademi Fellow award carries a cash prize of three lakh rupees, while the Akademi Award includes a cash prize of one lakh rupees.

About Sangeet Natak Akademi

  • Sangeet Natak Akademi, which was established in 1953, is the highest governing body in the field of performing arts in India. 
  • It is responsible for preserving and promoting the vast intangible heritage of India's diverse culture expressed in the forms of music, dance, and drama. The General Council manages the Akademi and the President of India appoints the Chairman for a term of five years. 
  • The Akademi's Memorandum of Association, adopted at its registration as a society on September 11, 1961, sets down the functions of the Akademi. 
  • The registered office of the Akademi is located at Rabindra Bhavan, 35 FerozeShah Road, New Delhi. 
  • Sangeet Natak Akademi is an autonomous body under the Ministry of Culture, Government of India. It consists of three constituent units, two of which are dance-teaching institutions. 
  • The first one is the Jawaharlal Nehru Manipur Dance Academy (JNMDA) located in Imphal, while the second one is Kathak Kendra situated in Delhi. 
  • It is located in Delhi and offers courses at various levels in Kathak dance and in vocal music and Pakhawaj.

Apart from the constituent units, the Akademi has five centers:

1. Kutiyattam Kendra, Thiruvananthapuram,

2. Sattriya Kendra, Guwahati, 

3. North-East Centre, Guwahati, 

4. North-East Documentation Centre, Agartala, 

5. Chhau Kendra, Chandankiyari,

  • The Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards is the most prestigious national awards given to active artists. 
  • The Akademi also presents Fellowships to remarkable artists and scholars of music, dance, and drama. In 2006, the Akademi initiated yearly awards for young artists - the Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar. 
  • His archive, which contains audio and video tapes, photographs, and films, is one of the largest in the country and is extensively used for research in the performing arts. 
  • Ariyakudi Ramanuja Iyengar Karaikudi was the first person to receive the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award.


Answer: Ariyakudi Ramanuja Iyengar Karaikudi

Answer: Sangeet Natak Akademi Award
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.