Home > Current Affairs > National > Pavuluri Subbarao gets Aryabhatta award in field of astronautics

Pavuluri Subbarao gets Aryabhatta award in field of astronautics

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 29-04-2024
Pavuluri Subbarao gets Aryabhatta award in field of astronautics Award and Honour 3 min read

Pavuluri Subba Rao Founder and CEO, Chairman of Ananth Technologies has been received with the ‘Aryabhatta Award’. 

  • The Aeronautical Society of India (ASI) has instituted an award to recognize outstanding contributions made to the promotion of astronautics in India. 
  • Recently, the award and the title of 'Distinguished Fellow' were conferred upon a recipient in recognition of their significant lifetime achievements. 
  • The recipient of the award is known for their remarkable contributions to the field of astronautics in India.

Ananth Technologies 

  • Dr. Subba Rao Pavuluri has over 40 years of experience in the Indian Space Program (ISRO) and is an entrepreneur and technologist. He established Ananth Technologies Limited (ATL) in 1993 to design, develop, and fabricate reliable systems and sub-systems for the Indian Space Program (ISRO) and Indian Defence. 
  • ATL has three Centers of Excellence in Hyderabad, Bengaluru, and Thiruvananthapuram with a workforce of over 1,600 people. The company has supplied essential components and technologies for 98 satellites and 78 launch vehicles used in Indian space programs.
  • Dr. Rao is working on maximizing the potential of satellite communication systems, specifically for India's vast and diverse landscape. These systems have numerous applications and can be used to tap new areas for development.

Aryabhatta Award

  • Every year, the Astronautical Society of India presents the Aryabhatta Award to people who have made significant contributions in the field of astronautics and aerospace technology in India. 
  • The society was established in 1990 and is a member of the International Astronautical Federation since 1958. 
  • The award is named after Aryabhata, an Indian astronomer and mathematician from the fifth century. 
  • It commemorates Aryabhata, the first Indian satellite launched on 19th April 1975. The award is generally presented by the Minister of State of the Prime Minister's Office.

Foundation Year of Award: 1992

Award Features: Cash Prize Rs. 100000 Citation

Award Periodicity: Annual

Objective: To recognise excellence in promoting Astronautics in India.

Criteria: Indian citizen who has contributed significantly in innovation/building up Institution/execution of significant Projects/Programme in a very senior position.


Answer: Pavuluri Subba Rao

Answer: Astronautical Society of India (ASI)

Answer: Pavuluri Subba Rao
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.