Home > Current Affairs > National > Sachin Tendulkar became the 'National Icon' of the Election Commission

Sachin Tendulkar became the 'National Icon' of the Election Commission

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 13-01-2024
Sachin Tendulkar became the 'National Icon' of the Election Commission Appointment 4 min read

Former cricketer Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar has been recognized as a 'National Icon' by the Election Commission in the presence of Chief Election Commissioner, Rajeev Kumar.

Every year the Election Commission chooses an icon every year to woo the rural and urban voters and support them in the elections.

  • The Election Commission has started its preparations regarding the Lok Sabha elections. Every year the Commission endeavours that more and more citizens exercise their franchise in the elections.
  • In order to woo and encourage voters more and more, the commission has selected former cricketer and Bharat Ratna awardee Sachin Tendulkar as the national icon this time.
  • The official announcement was made after a three-year MoU was signed between Sachin Tendulkar and the Election Commission.

National icon also made in the past:

  • Last year, actor Pankaj Tripathi was chosen as a National Icon by the commission. 
  • Apart from these, celebrities like cricketer MS Dhoni, Aamir Khan and Mary Kom were made national icons during the Lok Sabha elections in 2019.

Election Commission of India:

  • Established: January 25, 1950 as per the constitution.
  • Secretariat: New Delhi.
  • The Election Commission of India is an autonomous constitutional body that administers the Union and State election processes in India.
  • It conducts elections to the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, State Assemblies, President and Vice President in the country.
  • Part 15 of the Indian Constitution deals with elections, in which it has been said to establish a commission for the conduct of elections.
  • Articles 324 to 329 of the Constitution deal with the powers, functions, tenure, eligibility, etc., of the Election Commission and the members.

Composition of the Election Commission:

  • The Election Commission initially had a provision of only one Election Commissioner, but was made three-member on October 16, 1989 through a Presidential notification.
  • After this, it was made a one-member commission for some time and on October 1, 1993, its three-member commission was restored. Since then the Election Commission consists of a Chief Election Commissioner and two Election Commissioners.
  • The Chief Electoral Officer is an Indian Administrative Service rank officer, who is appointed by the President and the Election Commissioners are also appointed by the President.
  • Their tenure is for 6 years or till the age of 65 years (whichever is earlier).
  • They enjoy equal status with the judges of the Supreme Court of India and receive the same pay and allowances.
  • The Chief Election Commissioner can be removed from office by Parliament in a similar manner to the removal of a Supreme Court judge.


Ans. - Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.