Home > Current Affairs > International > Jonatan Christie Win Singles Title at 2024 Badminton Asia Championship

Jonatan Christie Win Singles Title at 2024 Badminton Asia Championship

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 15-04-2024
Jonatan Christie Win Singles Title at 2024 Badminton Asia Championship Sport 3 min read

Indonesian Badminton player Jonatan Christie won his first Asian Badminton Championship by defeating the Chinese player Li Shi Feng in the final of the 2024 Badminton Asia Championships on 14 April 2024. The 41st  Badminton Asia Championships was held in the coastal city of Ningbo, located in the Zhejiang province of China, from 9-14 April.

The Badminton Asia Championships is a BWF Super 1000 event.  It means that the winner of the event in both singles,doubles earns 1000 points. It was also the last qualifying event before the Summer Paris Olympic to be held from 26 July to 11 August 2024.

The current All England Open champion, Jonatan Christie, was in good form and won his match in straight sets 21-15,21-16. Jonatan Christie lost in the final of the 2022 Badminton Asia Championship held in Manila, Philippines.

Winner of the 2024 Badminton Asia Championship 

Following were the winners of the 41st Badminton Asia Championship.




Singles Men

Jonatan Christie (Indonesia)

Li Shi Feng (China)

Singles Women 

Wang Zhi Yi(China)

Chen Yu Fei(China)

Doubles Men’s 

Liang Wei Keng and Wang Chang(China)

Goh Sze Fei and Nur Izzuddin (Malaysia)

Doubles Women’s 

Baek Ha-Na and Lee So-Hee (South Korea)

Zhang Shu Xian and Zheng Yu (China)

Mixed Doubles 

Feng Yan Zhe/Huang Dong Ping (China)

Seo Seung Jae/Chae Yu Jung (South Korea)

Badminton  Asia 

Badminton Asia is the governing body of the badminton sport in Asia. It is a member of the badminton’s world governing body, the Badminton World Federation (BWF).

It was established in 1959 as the Asian Badminton Confederation. In 2015, its name was changed to the Badminton Asia Confederation and finally to Badminton Asia.

Badminton Asia has 43 Member Associations.  The Asian region is divided into five subregions: Central Asia, West Asia, South Asia, East Asia, and South-East Asia.

Headquarters: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia 

President: Kim Jong Soo


Answer: Jonatan Christie of Indonesia defeated Li Shi Feng of China.

Answer: Wang Zhi Yi of China defeated Chen Yu Fei of China

Answer: Baek Ha-Na and Lee So-Hee of South Korea defeated Zhang Shu Xian and Zheng Yu of China.

Answer: Ningbo, China.

Answer: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.