Home > Current Affairs > State > Kerala Assembly resolves to rename state as 'Keralam'

Kerala Assembly resolves to rename state as 'Keralam'

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 14-03-2024
Kerala Assembly resolves to rename state as 'Keralam' government 5 min read

The Kerala Assembly unanimously adopted a resolution on 9 August 2023 ,urging the Centre to officially rename the state as 'Keralam'. The resolution was moved by Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan.

The Chief minister while moving the resolution said that “The name of our state in Malayalam is Keralam. States were formed on linguistic lines in the country on November 1, 1956. The Kerala formation day is on the same day. It was a demand during the freedom struggle to form a united Kerala state for all Malayalam speaking people.”

“But under the first Schedule of the Constitution, the name of our state was recorded as Kerala. The Assembly unanimously requests the central government to make necessary amendments to change the official name of the state to ‘Keralam’ in all official languages under the Eighth schedule of the Constitution,” he added.

Formation of Kerala State:

On November 1, 1956, Travancore-Cochin was joined with the Malabar District of Madras State to form the new state of Kerala.

Constitutional provision regarding the change in the name of a State:

  • Article 3 of the Indian constitution provides for the procedure to be adopted for changing the name of a state .

  • The power to change the name of a state lies with the Parliament .

  • Any bill which seeks to change the name of the state has o be introduced in either house of the Parliament  i.e Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha.

  • The bill can be introduced in the parliament only on the recommendation of the President.

  • The President before recommending the bill has to refer the  bill to the legislature of the concerned state whose name is to be changed.

  • The state legislature has to give its opinion within the time stipulated by the President.

  • The opinion of the state is not binding on the President.

  • After the stipulated time period is over the bill is introduced in Parliament .

  • The bill will be treated as an ordinary bill and it has to be passed by both the houses by a simple majority .

  • The President signs the bills and it becomes an act .

  • The name of the state will be changed on the date specified by the President.

Name of the states changed after the promulgation of the constitution:

Madhya Bharat to Madhya Pradesh

Created from 25 princely states on May 28, 1948, Madhya Bharat was renamed as Madhya Pradesh 1 November 1956 on November 

Madras State to Tamil Nadu

After independence in India in 1947, Madras Presidency became Madras Province. In 1969, the state was renamed Tamil Nadu by Annadurai's government.

Uttaranchal to Uttarakhand

In December 2006, the state of Uttaranchal was renamed as Uttarakhand. Orissa to Odisha.

Orissa to Odisha 

In 2011 the name of Orissa was changed to Odisha . The 96th Constitutional amendment act 2011 amended the eighth schedule of the constitution and changed the name of Oriya language to Odia

Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.