Home > Current Affairs > State > Chandrababu Naidu sworn in as Andhra Pradesh CM for the fourth time

Chandrababu Naidu sworn in as Andhra Pradesh CM for the fourth time

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 14-06-2024
Chandrababu Naidu sworn in as Andhra Pradesh CM for the fourth time Appointment 7 min read

Nara Chandrababu Naidu, leader of the Telugu Desam Party(TDP), was sworn in as the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh for the fourth time by Governor S Abdul Nazeer at a swearing-in ceremony at Kesarpalli IT Park near Gannavaram Airport in Vijayawada

Chandrababu Naidu, who was elected from the Kuppam legislative assembly constituency, became the 18th chief minister of Andhra Pradesh. 

The state Governor also swore in a strong 25-member cabinet, including the chief minister. The cabinet includes 21 members of the TDP,3 from Pawan Kalyan’s Janasena and one from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Minister Amit Shah, the president of the BJP  and Union Minister J.P. Nadda attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Chandrababu Naidu’s  Telugu Desam Party (TDP), in alliance with  Pawan Kalyan’s Janasena party and the BJP, swept the recently held Andhra Pradesh legislative assembly poll.

TDP and its allies sweep Andhra Legislative Assembly Poll 

The election to constitute the 17th Andhra Pradesh legislative assembly was held on 13 May 2024, along with the Lok Sabha election. The counting took place on 4 June 20224, and the result was declared on the same day by the Election Commission of India.

The alliance of TDP, BJP, and Janansena won 164 seats out of 175 seats in the Andhra Pradesh legislative assembly. 

TDP won 135, Janasena 21 and BJP won 8 seats. The opposition YSR Congress party, led by former chief minister Jagan Mohan Reddy, got only 11 seats.

The TDP and its allies, the Janasena Party and the BJP, had elected N. Chandrababu Naidu as the leader of their legislative party on 11 June 2024. After that, Governor Abdul Nazeer invited N. Chandrababu Naidu to form the government.

Chandrababu’s fourth term as CM of Andhra Pradesh 

N. Chandrababu Naidu first became the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh in 1995 after the death of the sitting chief minister, N.T. Rama Rao. Chandrababu Naidu is the son-in-law of Telugu film superstar N.T. Rama Rao, who founded the Telugu Desam Party.

His party won the 1999 legislative assembly election, and he became the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh for the second time till 2004.

His third term as chief minister started in 2014 after his party won a majority in the legislative assembly election. During his third term, Andhra Pradesh was divided into two states -Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. 

He lost the 2019 election to Jagan Mohan Reddy’s YSR Congress but defeated the Jagan Mohan Reddy government in the 2024 legislative assembly election.

Amravati to be the Capital of Andhra Pradesh Capital 

Chandrababu Naidu has announced that Amravati will be the capital of Andhra Pradesh. In 2014, after the formation of Telangana, the capital city of Hyderabad was made the joint capital of both states for 10 years. After ten years, the city of Hyderabad was to be transferred to Telangana, and Andhra Pradesh was to have its own new capital. 

At that time, Amaravati was chosen as the new capital of Andhra Pradesh. Jagan Mohan Reddy instead proposed three capitals for Andhra Pradesh.

For details about the controversy, read- Hyderabad belongs to Telangana, no longer Andhra Pradesh Capital

About Andhra Pradesh 

After the promulgation of the constitution, the first state to be formed as per Article 3 was Andhra State

The parliament passed the Andhra State Act 1953 to carve out 11 Telugu speaking districts of Madras Province into a separate state of Andhra. 

It came into being on 1 October 1953.

After the enactment of the State Reorganisation Act 1956, the present state of Andhra Pradesh came into being on 1 November 1956.

The Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act 2014 bifurcated Andhra Pradesh, creating a new state of Telangana on 2 June 2014.

The first chief minister of Andhra State was T. Prakasam (1953-54).

The first chief minister of Andhra Pradesh was Neelam Sanjiva Reddy (1 November 1956 to 11 January 1960).

Jagan Mohan Reddy of the YSR Congress party (2019-2024) was the 17th chief minister of Andhra Pradesh.

The 18th chief minister of Andhra Pradesh in N. Chandrababu Naidu.


Answer: Nara Chandrababu Naidu. he has become the chief minister for the 4th time.

Answer: Telugu Desam Party.

Answer: Neelam Sanjiva Reddy in 1956.

Answer: S Abdul Nazeer.

Answer: Andhra Pradesh, where the swearing-in ceremony of the Chandrababu government took place on 12 June 2024.

Answer: Jagan Mohan Reddy of YSR Congress Party.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.