Home > Current Affairs > International > Inter Milan wins 20th Serie A Italian football league title

Inter Milan wins 20th Serie A Italian football league title

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 24-04-2024
Inter Milan wins 20th Serie A Italian football league title Sport 4 min read

Inter Milan (also known as Internazionale Milano) won its 20th Serie A title by beating its arch-rival AC Milan 2-1 at the San Siro Stadium in Milan on 21 April 2024. The Simone Inzaghi-coached Inter Milan side has taken an unassailable lead in the standings with five matches remaining in the season.

The Inter Milan team has lost only one match in the 2023-24 season and has a 17-point lead over its nearest rival, AC Milan. 

2023-24 Serie A title for Inter Milan

Francesco Acerbi and Marcus Thuram scored a goal apiece for Inter Milan in each half of the match, while  Fikayo Tomori scored the consolidation goal for AC Milan. The match witnessed three red cards in stoppage time.

Inter Milan last won the league in the 2020-21 season but was unable to replicate its success in the 2021-22 and 2022-23 seasons. AC Milan won the 2021-22 title, and Napoli won the 2022-23 title.

Now, Inter Milan has won 20 Serie A titles, just behind Juventus, which has won 36 times. 

In the Serie A league, a star is awarded for every 10 Serie A titles. Only Juventus has won three stars.

Inter Milan Football Club 

  • Inter Milan was formed by a group of AC Milan football club players in 1908. 
  • Inter Milan won its first Italian league championship in 1910.
  • In 2010, Inter Milan became the first Italian club to capture a domestic top-division title (the Serie A championship), a domestic cup (the Italian Cup), and a continental championship (Champions League) in a single year.
  • The club has also won three European Cup/Champions League titles (1964,1965 and 2010).
  • It has also won three Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) Cups (now UEFA Europa League) in  1991, 1994, and 1998.


Serie A Football League 

  • In Italy, the professional club football league is called the Serie League. The top professional league is called Serie A, the second-tier league is called Serie B, and the third-tier league is called Serie C. 
  • The Serie A is the top Italian professional football league established in 1898. 
  • The winner of the Serie A since 1961 gets the Coppa Campioni d'Italia trophy.
  • Initially 18 clubs were part of the Serie A league but since 2004-2005, 20 clubs participate in the league.
  • The top three teams of the Serie A league qualify for the UEFA Champions League.
  • Juventus is the most successful Serie A league winner, having won it 36 times.


Answer: Inter Milan for the 20th time.

Answer: Italy

Answer: Juventus football club for 36 times.

Answer: Coppa Campioni d'Italia trophy.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.