Home > Current Affairs > International > Copa America Football Tournament 2024 to Kick off in the USA

Copa America Football Tournament 2024 to Kick off in the USA

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 22-06-2024
Copa America Football Tournament 2024 to Kick off in the USA Sport 4 min read

The 48th edition of the Copa America football tournament will kick off in the United States on 21 June 2024. This is the second time in the 108-year history of the Copa America Cup that the event is being held outside South America. In 2016, the United States hosted the Copa America Cup.

Defending champions Argentina will face debutants Canada in the opening match at the Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta on June 21, 2024.

The United States will host the tournament from 21 June to 15 July 2024 in fourteen cities.

Copa America Teams and Groups of 2024

In the 2024 Copa America, 16 football teams from the Americas (North America and South America)  are participating. Ten teams are CONMEBOL members, and six are CONCACAF teams.

CONMEBOL, or the South American Football Confederation, is the governing body of football in the South American continent,

CONCACAF, or the Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football, is the governing body of football in North America, Central America and the Caribbean Islands.

The teams have been divided into 4 groups 

  • Group A: Argentina, Peru, Chile, Canada
  • Group B: Mexico, Ecuador, Venezuela, Jamaica
  • Group C: United States, Uruguay, Panama, Bolivia
  • Group D: Brazil, Colombia, Paraguay, Costa Rica

The winners and the runners-up from each group will progress to the quarter-final stage. The 2024 Copa America final will be played at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami on July 15, 2024.

Most successful teams in the Copa America 

Argentina and Uruguay jointly share the honour of being the most successful countries in the Copa America Cup. Both countries have won the trophy fifteen times each. 

Brazil has won the tournament 14 times.

Argentina are the defending champions. They defeated the host, Brazil, in the final of the 2021 Copa America.

About Copa America 

Copa America is a continental-level men’s football tournament where normally the countries of the American continents participate. However, guest countries from other parts of the world are invited to play in the tournament.

The first Copa America was organised by CONMEBOL in Argentina in 1916 and it was won by Uruguay.

Initially, only the South American countries were allowed to participate in the Copa America Cup.

Since South America consists of only 12 countries the CONMEBOL started inviting other countries to participate in the Copa America. 

Mexico and the United States were first invited to play in the Copa America Cup in 1993. Other countries, such as Qatar, Japan, Mexico, and Panama, have also been invited to play in the tournament. 

Mexico has been a guest nation for a record 11 times and has yet to win the Copa America Cup. The United States has been invited five times.


Answer: Men’s football where the team mainly from the American Continent plays.

Answer: The United States of America hosted it in 2016 and 2024.

Answer: Argentina and Uruguay 15 times each

Answer: 16 teams.

Answer: United States of America
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.