Home > Current Affairs > International > Tiger Woods awarded USGA golf's most prestigious award

Tiger Woods awarded USGA golf's most prestigious award

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 06-03-2024
Tiger Woods awarded USGA golf's most prestigious award Sport 3 min read

Renowned golfer Tiger Woods has been selected for the Bob Jones Award, the US Golf Association's (USGA) highest honour. This award is the highest honor given to Tiger Woods by the United States Golf Association (USGA).

Woods will be honored during US Open 2024:

  • Tiger Woods will be honored during the US Open on June 12, 2024 at Pinehurst No. 2 in North Carolina.
  • Woods was recognized for his exemplary commitment to sporting traditions and integrity, as well as on-course accomplishments.
  • Tiger Woods is a 15-time major champion and nine-time USGA champion.
  • Woods has redefined the game of golf in the modern era by overcoming physical and personal challenges.

About the Bob Jones Award:

  • The award is given to an individual who has demonstrated sportsmanship, personal character and honor consistent with that of Jones, a USGA Championship winner.
  • This award has been presented annually since 1955. It is the highest honor bestowed by the USGA.
  • Previous recipients include Jack Nicklaus and Barbara Nicklaus. Making Nicklaus the only husband-wife to receive this honor. Its major winners include:
    • 2020:- Se Ri Pak
    • 2021:- Robert C. Lewis Jr.
    • 2022 :- Julie Inkster
    • 2023 :- Johnny Miller

Awards received by Tiger Woods:

  • Tiger Woods has a total of 82 career wins on the PGA Tour. These also include 15 major titles.
  • Tiger Woods is a nine-time USGA champion.
  • Woods was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2022.
  • Tiger Woods received the Presidential Medal of Freedom from Donald Trump in 2019.
  • With 15 career major wins, Woods owns the second-most men's golf titles, behind Nicklaus (18). He impressively captured the 'Tiger Slam' by winning all four major titles simultaneously in 2000–01.

Woods' reaction to being selected for the Bob Jones Award:

  • Bob Jones was a pillar of the game because of the integrity with which he played. I am honored to have this award in his name and to join the list of players who have received this award.
  • Woods defined his dominance by winning the US Open in 2000, 2002 and 2008.
  • Woods has also spent the most weeks of his career as the world number one in the Official World Golf Ranking.


Answer: Tiger Woods

Answer: Has been selected for the Bob Jones Award, the highest honor of the American Golf Association (USGA).

Answer: Tiger Woods has won a total of 82 times in his career on the PGA Tour.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.