Home > Current Affairs > State > Prem Singh Tamang of SKM sworn in as Sikkim CM for 2nd time

Prem Singh Tamang of SKM sworn in as Sikkim CM for 2nd time

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 11-06-2024
Prem Singh Tamang of SKM sworn in as Sikkim CM for 2nd time Appointment 4 min read

Prem Singh Tamang of the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) was sworn in as the chief minister of Sikkim for the second consecutive term. The SKM was swept back into power in the recently concluded state legislative assembly election by winning 31 out of 32 seats of the Sikkim Legislative Assembly.

Prem Singh Tamang’s 2nd term as Sikkim's Chief Minister

Prem Singh Tamang was administered the oath of office and secrecy by the Sikkim governor Lakshman Acharya at the swearing ceremony in Paljor stadium in Gangtok on 10 June 2024. 

Twelve ministers, including the chief minister, were also sworn in. According to the constitution, the maximum strength of the Sikkim Council of Ministers shall be twelve.

Earlier, Prem Singh Tamang was elected the leader of the SKM legislative party on 2 June 2024 after the result of the legislative assembly elections was declared.

SKM landslide victory in the 2024 Assembly Elections

The election to constitute the 11th Sikkim Legislative Assembly was held on 19 April 2024, along with the first phase of the Lok Sabha election.

The SKM won 31 of the 32 assembly seats and the lone Lok Sabha seat. 

Prem Singh Tamang won from both the Rhenock and Soreng-Chakung legislative assembly constituencies.

Chief Ministers of Sikkim 

Prem Singh Tamang is the sixth person to become the chief minister of Sikkim. 

  • First chief minister of Sikkim -Kazi Lhendup Dorjee(1975-79).
  • Second chief minister -Nar Bahadur Bhandari. 
  • Third chief minister -Bhim Bahadur Gurung. 
  • Fourth chief minister -Sanchaman  Limboo.
  • Fifth chief minister -Pawan Kumar Chamling.
  • Sixth chief minister - Prem Singh Tamang.

About Sikkim 

The Buddhist kingdom of Sikkim was ruled by the Namgyal Chogyal dynasty from 1642 to 1975. In 1835, the British defeated Sikkim and made it its protectorate.

After India became independent, an Indo-Sikkim treaty was signed between the two countries in 1950, which made India responsible for the security and defence of Sikkim.

Sikkim was made an associate state of India by the 35th Constitutional Amendment Act 1974.  

A special referendum was held in Sikkim in 1975, and around 97 per cent of the population approved its merger with India.

The 36th Constitutional Amendment Act 1975 was passed, repealing the 35th Amendment and making Sikkim the 22nd state of India.

Other Information About Sikkim

State Animal: Red Panda

State Bird: Blood Pheasant

State Flower: Dendrobium Nobile (Nobile Orchid)

State Tree: Rhododendron Niveum

Density of the Population:86 Persons per sq. Km.

Literacy Rate: 81.4%

Read About- Buddhist Saga Dawa festival of Sikkim


Answer: Prem Singh Tamang

Answer: Sikkim Krantikari Morcha

Answer: 1974 by 35th Constitutional Amendment Act 1974.

Answer: By the 36th Constitutional Amendment Act 1975, in 1975.

Answer: Gangtok

Answer: Lakshman Acharya.

Answer: 12 ministers, including the chief minister.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.