Home > Current Affairs > National > PM Modi Announced- L K Advani To Be Awarded Bharat Ratna Award

PM Modi Announced- L K Advani To Be Awarded Bharat Ratna Award

Utkarsh Classes 03-02-2024
PM Modi Announced- L K Advani To Be Awarded Bharat Ratna Award Award and Honour 3 min read

Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced that veteran BJP leader Lal Krishna Advani will be honored with Bharat Ratna.

About LK Advani

  • Lal Krishna Advani was born on November 8, 1927 in Karachi, present-day Pakistan.
  • He served as the president of the Bharatiya Janata Party for the longest period since its foundation in 1980.
  • He was first Home Minister and later Deputy Prime Minister in the cabinet of Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1999–2004).
  • He is one of the co-founders and Upar Advani ji served as the 7th Deputy PM. He is one of the co-founders of the BJP and a member of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS). 
  • Advani holds the record for being the longest-serving Home Minister and the longest-serving Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha.
  • He was the BJP's prime ministerial candidate during the 2009 general elections.
  • Advani is widely regarded as a man of great intellectual ability, strong principles and unwavering support for the idea of ​​a strong and prosperous India.

About Bharat Ratna

  • Bharat Ratna is India's highest civilian award and was instituted in 1954. It is awarded to any person regardless of his caste, occupation, status or gender.
  • The award is given in: 
    • recognition of outstanding service or performance in any field of human endeavour.
  • The Prime Minister himself recommends Bharat Ratna recipients to the President and no formal recommendation is required.
  • The recipient is presented with a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medal.
  • No monetary grant is given in this award. 
  • According to Article 18(1) of the Constitution, it cannot be used as a prefix or suffix to the name of the recipient.

Few Facts About Bharat Ratna

  • The first Bharat Ratna was provided to Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, Sir C.V. Raman, and Chakravarti Rajaopalachari in 1954.
  • In 2019, the award was given to three eminent personalities: Nanaji Deshmukh, Pranab Mukherjee and Bhupen Hazarika.
  • Earlier, the PM also announced that former Bihar CM Karpoori Thakur will be posthumously awarded the highest civilian award Bharat Ratna.


Answer: Karpoori Thakur and LK Advani

Answer: Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, Sir C.V. Raman, and Chakravarti Rajagopalachari in 1954

Answer: Prime Minister

Answer: President

Answer: None
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.