Home > Current Affairs > International > Jay Shah elected President of ACC for the third consecutive time

Jay Shah elected President of ACC for the third consecutive time

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 02-02-2024
Jay Shah elected President of ACC for the third consecutive time Person in News 5 min read

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah has been elected as President of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) for the third time. In this way, Jai Shah's tenure has been extended for one year. A decision in this regard was taken unanimously in the annual general meeting held on 31 January 2023.

Sri Lanka Cricket proposed Jay Shah's name:

  • The extension of Jay Shah's tenure was proposed for the second time by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) President Shammi Silva.
  • Jay Shah's nomination was unanimously supported by all members of the Asian Cricket Council.

Had received command of ACC from Nazmul Hasan:

  • Jay Shah took over the reins of ACC from Bangladesh Cricket Board President Nazmul Hasan in January 2021. Jay Shah is the youngest administrator to become the ACC President.
  • Under Shah's leadership the ACC has made many significant strides in promoting and developing cricket across the Asian region.
  • The ACC successfully hosted the Asia Cup in T20 format in 2022 and the ODI format in 2023. Asia's capability in hosting all these major cricket events was demonstrated.
  • Sri Lanka Cricket praised ACC President Jay Shah, saying that Jay Shah has played an important role in helping ACC promote and develop cricket throughout the Asian region. Under the guidance of Jay Shah, ACC has played a vital role in uncovering and promoting new talent in cricketing superpowers like Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
  • Expressing his gratitude to everyone, Jai Shah said that we must remain committed to ensuring all-round development of sports with special focus on sports where it is still in its infancy. ACC is dedicated to fostering cricket development throughout Asia.

About Asian Cricket Council (ACC):

  • Established: 19 September 1983
  • The ACC was formed on 19 September 1983 in New Delhi as the Asian Cricket Conference.

Objective of ACC:

  • The aim was to organize, develop and promote the game of cricket in Asia, which has been pursued ever since.

Founding members of ACC:

  • There were India, Bangladesh, Malaysia, Pakistan, Singapore and Sri Lanka. Membership subsequently increased, first to Hong Kong, then to the United Arab Emirates, followed by Nepal in 1990. China joined the ACC in 2004.

Asian Cricket Conference became Asian Cricket Council:

  • In 1993, the Asian Cricket Conference transformed into the Asian Cricket Council.
  • There are two categories of membership in the ACC – ranked as Full and Associate.
  • Until December 1999, all administrative positions in the ACC were honorary. The Secretary and Treasurer have been receiving remuneration since 1999.
  • Until 2003, the headquarters of the ACC was relocated every two years to Kuala Lumpur, the home country of the Chairman and Secretary. Malaysia was chosen as the permanent headquarters of the Asian Cricket Council in late 2003.
  • The current ACC is headquartered in Colombo, Sri Lanka, which was officially opened on 20 August 2016.
  • The ACC plays a key role in coordinating various aspects of the game across the continent. The ACC oversees prestigious tournaments such as the Asia Cup for men and women and the Emerging Teams Cup for women and men.


Answer:- Jai Shah

Answer:- three times

Answer:- Colombo, Sri Lanka

Answer:- For one year

Answer:- 19 September 1983
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.