Home > Current Affairs > International > Sarabjot Singh wins gold at ISSF Munich World Cup 2024

Sarabjot Singh wins gold at ISSF Munich World Cup 2024

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 08-06-2024
Sarabjot Singh wins gold at ISSF Munich World Cup 2024 Person in News 4 min read

On 6 June 2024, Sarabjot Singh won India's first medal at the International Shooting Sports Federation (ISSF) World Cup, which was held in Munich, Germany. The ISSF World Cup will be held from May 31 to June 8, 2024.  

Gold Medal for Sarabjot Singh

The Indian shooter Sarabjot Singh scored 242.7 points in the final to win the gold medal in the men’s 10-meter air pistol event. 

Shuaihang Bu of the People’s Republic of China won the silver medal, while the German Robin Walter had to settle for a bronze medal.

This was Sarabjot Singh's second individual gold medal in the ISSF World Cup. Last Year, he won the gold in the men’s 10-meter air rifle event at the ISSF World Cup held in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh.

Sift Kaur Samra Bags Bronze medal 

Sift Kaur Samra won the second medal for India in the women’s  50-meter Rifle event, the bronze. Seonaid McIntosh of Britain won the gold, while Han Jiayu of China won the silver.

India is currently in third place with France in the medal tally, having won two medals each. China leads the medal tally with 11 medals, followed by Norway with 3 medals.

ISSF World Cup 

The ISSF World Cup is one of the most prestigious shooting tournaments in the world after the Olympics. It is organised by the world shooting sports governing body, the International Shooting Sports Federation (ISSF).

The ISSF was formed in 1907, and its headquarters is in Munich, Germany.

The first ISSF World Cup was organised in 1986 at Mexico City in Mexico.

 Since 1996,every year four ISSF World Cups  have been held  and in an Olympic year only three are held.

Every year the ISSF organises the World Cup for rifle and pistol events separately from the shotgun World Cup.

Since 1988, the ISSF also organises an ISSF World Cup Final each year. Eight shooters with the best scores in ISSF World Cups are allowed to participate. However, only two shooters from a country are allowed to participate in the final.

The ISSF World Cup Final has been renamed the ISSF President's Cup.

India hosted the shotgun World Cup for the first time in 1997 while it hosted the rifle and pistol World Cup for the first time in 2017 in New Delhi.


Answer: Sarabjot Singh in men’s 10-meter air rifle.

Answer: Shooting.

Answer: Munich, Germany.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.