Home > Current Affairs > International > Bayer Leverkusen wins its first Bundesliga title

Bayer Leverkusen wins its first Bundesliga title

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 15-04-2024
Bayer Leverkusen wins its first Bundesliga title Sport 4 min read

Bayer Leverkusen football club won its first Bundesliga title by defeating Werder Bremen football club  5-0. The Bayer Leverkusen club also ended Bayern Munich's grip on the Bundesliga title. Bayern Munich has won 11 consecutive Bundesliga titles since 2012-13  -2022-23.

It is the second major German trophy for the Bayer Leverkusen football team, which won the DFB-Pokal, or the German Cup, in 1993. The title is the first Bundesliga win for a club that had previously held the record for most second-place finishes without lifting the championship titles. 

Bayern Leverkusen has also qualified for the 2024-25 UEFA Champions League.

Bundesliga 2023-24 Champions Bayer Leverkusen 

In the 2023-24 season, Bayer Leverkusen were undefeated in their 29 matches. They have a 16-point lead over the 2022-23 champion Bayern Munich, and they still have to play 5 matches. Bayern Munich cannot overtake Bayern Leverkusen at the points table. Hence, Bayer Leverkusen has been declared as Champion.

The Bayer Leverkusen football team, coached by Xabi Alonso of Spain, also has a chance to win the German Cup as they have reached its final.

Xabi Alonso was part of the Bayern Munich team as a player, which won three Bundesliga titles from 2015-17.

In the title-winning match against Werder Bremen, Florian Wirtz scored a hat trick of goals, and Victor Boniface and  Granit Xhaka scored one each.

Bayer Leverkusen football club was founded by the German pharmaceutical company Bayer workers in 1904. The club, which is popularly known as Werkself, was promoted to the Bundesliga in 1979.

The German club has won only three major titles: the Bundesliga 2023-24, the German Cup or DFB-Pokal in 1993, and the UEFA Cup in 1988.


The Bundesliga is a professional football league in Germany. It is the highest-ranked domestic football tournament in Germany.

The Bundesliga was founded in 1962, and the first season was played in 1963-64. The top 18 professional football clubs in Germany participate in the Bundesliga.

The league is played round-robin, with each team playing 34 matches. The team with the highest point is declared the winner of the Bundesliga.

Bayern Munich has been the most successful team in the Bundesliga, with 32 title wins. 


Answer: Bayer Leverkusen has won it for the first time.

Answer: Germany. It started in the 1963-64 season.

Answer: Bayern Munich has won it 32 times and was the consecutive champion from 2012-13 -2022-23.

Answer: Bayer Leverkusen
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.