Home > Current Affairs > International > Sumit Nagal Make History At Australian Open By Defeating Seeded Player

Sumit Nagal Make History At Australian Open By Defeating Seeded Player

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 17-01-2024
Sumit Nagal Make History At Australian Open By Defeating Seeded Player Sport 4 min read

India's Sumit Nagal entered the second round of the Australian Open tennis tournament for the first time by defeating Kazakhstan's Alexander Bublik. The Australian Open 2024 is being held at Melbourne Park from 14 January to 28 January 2024.

Defeated the 27th Seeded Player

  • World number 137 player Sumit Nagal defeated world No. 27th Bublik in the first round of the tournament. In the match that lasted 2 hours 38 minutes, both of them were defeated in straight sets by 6-4, 6-2, 7-6.
  • Through this victory, Sumit reached the second round of the Australian Open for the first time. Earlier in 2021, Nagal had lost to Lithuania's Ricardas Berankis in the opening round of the tournament.

Ramesh Krishnan had also accomplished this feat:

  • This is the first win by an Indian men's singles player over a seeded player in a Grand Slam after 34 years. Before this, Ramesh Krishnan had defeated Mats Wilander in the 1989 Australian Open. Bublik is seeded 31st in the Australian Open 2024.

Australian Open Tennis Tournament:

  • Australian Open 2024 is a Grand Slam tennis tournament. It is being held in Melbourne Park from 14 January this year to 28 January 2024. The Australian Open marks the inaugural Grand Slam of the tennis calendar year.
  • It is the 112th edition of the Australian Open and the first major since 2024.
  • The tournament includes singles, doubles and mixed doubles events for professional players. Junior and wheelchair athletes participated in both singles and doubles competitions.
  • Novak Djokovic from Serbia holds the title of the reigning men's singles champion. While Aryna Sabalenka of Belarus is the current women's singles champion.

Grand Slam Tennis Tournament:

  • There are four Grand Slam events of tennis played annually. These are the Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon and US Open which are played in that order.
  • The Australian Open and US Open are both played on hard courts, while the French Open is played on clay and Wimbledon is played on grass.
  • Wimbledon, the first of the Grand Slams, began in 1877. After that, the US Open started in 1881, French Open in 1891 and Australian Open in 1905.
  • It has continued since its inception in 1905, except for the First and Second World Wars and the Australian Open in 1986. Each year, all four Grand Slam tournaments are held without exception. It is organized every year in the following order:
    • Melbourne Park hosts the Australian Open annually in January.
    • The French Open is held at Roland Garros, Paris in May–June.
    • The Wimbledon Open is the All England Tennis Festival held in London in June–July.
    • The US Open is held in Flushing Meadows, New York in August–September.


Answer:- Lawn Tennis

Answer:- ‘Alexander Bublik’ of Kazakhstan

Answer:- Australian Open

Answer:- Both the Australian Open and the US Open are played on hard courts.

Answer:- Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon and US Open
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.