Home > Current Affairs > International > Satwiksairaj and Chirag Shetty Win French Open Badminton Title

Satwiksairaj and Chirag Shetty Win French Open Badminton Title

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 11-03-2024
Satwiksairaj and Chirag Shetty Win French Open Badminton Title Sport 4 min read

Top Indian badminton men’s pair of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty won their first title of 2024 by beating the Chinese Taipei’s Lee Jhe-Huei and Yang Po-Hsuan pair in the final of the French Open 2024 on 10 March 2024.

In the final played at the Porte de la Chapelle Arena, Paris, the world's no.1 men’s pair took 37 minutes to demolish the world no.16 ranked Chinese Taipei’s player by 21-11, 21-17 in straight sets.

This was the second French Open title for the Indian pair. They had won the men’s double title in 2021 and finished runners-up in 2019.

The French Open win was Satwik and Chirag’s seventh title on the BWF World Tour. The Indian pair won the Swiss Open, the Indonesia Open and the Korea Open in 2023. 

The results at the French Open will count toward players’ qualification rankings for the Paris 2024 Olympics, which will be held from 27 July to 5 August 2024. Players have to secure the necessary points to qualify for the Paris Olympics until April 20224.

The Super 750 BWF French Open 2024 was held at  Arena Porte de la Chapelle, Paris, France, from 5-10 March 2024. 

Winners of the Super 750 BWF French Open 2024 

Following are the Super 750 BWF French Open 2024 winners and runners-up in the various categories. 




Men’s (Single)

Y.Q. Shi (China)

Kunlavut Vitidasarn (Thailand)

Women’s (Single) 

An Se Young (South Korea)

Akane Yamaguchi (Japan)

Women’s Double

Chen Qing Chen and Jia Ye Fan(Both from China)

Nami Matsuyama  and Chiharu Sida(Both  from Japan )

Men’s Doubles 

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty(Both from India)

Lee Jhe-Huei and Yang Po-Hsuan (Both from Chinese Taipei)

Mixed Doubles 

Feng Yan Zhe and Huang Dong Ping (Both from China)

Seo Seung Jae and 

Chae Yu Jung (Both from South Korea )

BWF (Badminton World Federation )

The Badminton World Federation is the international governing body of Badminton.

Initially, it was set up as the International Badminton Federation in 1934, but it was later converted into the World Badminton Federation in 2006.

Currently, it has 201 members.

Headquarters: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia


Answer: Paris

Answer: Lee Jhe-Huei and Yang Po-Hsuan (Both of Chinese Taipei)

Answer: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Answer: 201
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.