Home > Current Affairs > International > Lithuanian President Gitanas Nausėda re elected for another term

Lithuanian President Gitanas Nausėda re elected for another term

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 29-05-2024
Lithuanian President Gitanas Nausėda re elected for another term Person in News 4 min read

President Gitanas Nauseda has been re-elected President of the Baltic state of Lithuania. The 60-year-old  Gitanas Nauseda, who does not belong to any political party, defeated the incumbent Prime Minister Ingrida Simonyte of the ruling centre-right Homeland Union party in the run-off presidential election held on 26 May 2024.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated President Gitanas Nauseda on his re-election.

Presidential Election in Lithuania 

The presidential election was held in Lithuania on 12 May 2024. Eight candidates, including President Gitanas Nauseda and Prime Minister Ingrida Simonyte, contested the election. In Lithuania, a candidate must secure at least 50 per cent of the votes cast to be declared elected. 

Since none of the candidates was able to secure the necessary 50 per cent of the votes, the top two candidates who secured the maximum votes were eligible to contest the next round of the presidential run-off election. 

In the first round, Gitanas Nauseda received 46 per cent of the votes, and Ingrida Simonyte received 16 per cent. These two candidates contested the presidential run-off.

Gitanas Nauseda emerged as the clear winner in the presidential run-off election conducted on 26 May 2024.

Second Term for President Gitanas Nauseda 

Gitanas Nauseda, who was a bank chief economist by profession, was elected president of Lithuania for the first time in 2019. His opponent in the 2019 presidential election was Ingrida Simonyte. He defeated Ingrida Simonyte in the run-off election to become President of Lithuania.

The term of the President of Lithuania is five years.

According to the constitution of Lithuania, a person can be the president for only two terms.

Governance system in Lithuania 

The 1992 constitution of Lithuania provides for a parliamentary system of government. The parliament of Lithuania is called Seimas, which has 141 members. They are  elected by the people for a term of four years, 

The Prime Minister is appointed by the President and is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the country.

Lithuania’s president is the head of the country's armed forces and chairs the supreme defence and national security policy body. The president represents the country at the European Union and the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation summit meetings..

About Lithuania

Lithuania is located in north-eastern Europe and is the largest of the three Baltic countries: Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. 

They are called Baltic countries because they lie along the Baltic Sea.

Lithuania became part of the Soviet Union in 1944. 

It declared its independence from the Soviet Union in 1990, which was acknowledged by the Soviet Union in 1991.

It became a member of the European Union and the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation in 2004.

Capital: Vilnius

Currency: Euro.

President :Gitanas Nauseda


Answer: He has been reelected as the president of Lithuania.

Answer: Ingrida Simonyte

Answer: Five years and a person can be president only for two terms.

Answer: Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania because they lie along the Baltic Sea in Europe.

Answer: Vilnius

Answer: Euro
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.