Home > Current Affairs > International > India wins two titles at the Asian Squash Doubles Championship 2024

India wins two titles at the Asian Squash Doubles Championship 2024

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 08-07-2024
India wins two titles at the Asian Squash Doubles Championship 2024 Sport 5 min read

Indian Squash players won two titles at the recently concluded Asian Squash Doubles Championship 2024 held at the Arena Emas in Johor, Malaysia. The Indian team won the men’s doubles and mixed doubles titles.

The Indian men’s team also won the 2022 Asian Team Champion in Cheongju, South Korea.

Mixed Doubles Title

In the mixed doubles finals, the Indian pair of Abhay Singh and four-time World Doubles Championships medallist Joshna Chinappa defeated Hong Kong China’s Tong Tsz Wing and Ming Hong Tang 2-1 (11-8, 10-11, 11-5) in the final played on 7 July 2024  at the Arena Emas in Johor, Malaysia.

At the 19th Hangzhou Asian Games 2022, Abhay Singh won the mixed doubles bronze medal with Anahat Singh. Anahat Singh did not compete in the Malaysian event.

Men’s Double Titles 

Abhay Singh, part of the gold medal-winning team at the 19th Hangzhou Asian Games, partnered with Velavan Senthilkumar to win the men’s doubles title. The Indian pair defeated  Ong Sai Hung and Syafiq Kamal of Malaysia in straight sets in the final. 

Abhay Singh had earlier won the Goodfellow Classic and the Willingdon Masters squash titles.

National men’s Squash champion Velavan Senthilkumar earlier won the Batch Open Challenger Squash 2024

Asian Team Squash Championship 

The Asian Squash Federation organises the Asian Team Squash Championship with the host country’s Squash Federations. The 2024  Asian Squash Doubles Championships was held in Johor, Malaysia, from 4 to 7 July 2024.

33 teams from 7 countries participated in the Malaysia event. Nine men's doubles teams, nine women's doubles teams, and 15 mixed doubles teams were involved.

The Asian Team Squash Championship is a biennial event. 

Karachi, Pakistan, hosted the first men’s Asian Team Squash Championship in 1981, which Pakistan won.

The women’s Asian Team Squash Championship was held for the first time in 1986 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, simultaneously with the men’s team championship. Hong Kong won the first women’s Asian team championship.

Winners at the Asian Team Squash Championship 

Pakistan is the most successful team in the men's section, having won it 15 times. Malaysia has won it three times, and India once in 2022.

Malaysia is the most successful team in the women's section, having won the title 10 times. The Indian women's team won the title only once, in 2012.

Squash Rackets Federation of India (SRFI) 

The game of squash was introduced to India by the British.

The Squash Rackets Federation of India (SRFI) was established to govern and promote squash in India.

The  Squash Rackets Federation of India (SRFI) is recognised by the government and is a member of the World Squash  Federation and the Asian Squash Federation.

Headquarters: Chennai 

President: Debendranath Sarangi


Answer: Velavan Senthilkumar

Answer: Abhay Singh

Answer: Johor, Malaysia

Answer: British

Answer: Chennai

Answer: Every Two years.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.