Home > Current Affairs > International > India wins the 16th ACC Men’s Cricket Asia Cup 2023

India wins the 16th ACC Men’s Cricket Asia Cup 2023

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 08-12-2023
India wins the 16th ACC Men’s Cricket Asia Cup 2023 Sport 4 min read

The Indian men’s cricket team won the 16th ACC Men’s Cricket Asia Cup 2023 by beating the Sri Lankan side by10 wickets in the final played at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, Sri Lanka on 17 September 2023.This was the 8th title win for the Indian team led by Rohit Sharma and coached by Rahul Dravid. 

Batting first after winning the toss ,the Sri Lankan team was all out for 50 runs in 15.2 overs . It was the second lowest score of Sri Lanka in One Day Internationals(ODI). Sri Lanka's record of lowest total in ODIs is 43 runs. The match was played against  South Africa at Paarl ,South Africa in 2012.

The Sri Lankan team captain was Dasun Shanaka.

From India Muhammad Siraj was the chief destroyer who took 6 wickets for 21 runs in his 7.2 overs . India scored the required run in just 6.1 overs without loss of any wicket.

The 16th ACC Men’s Cricket Asia Cup 2023 was co-hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka from 30th August to 17th September 2023. It was organised by the Asian Cricket Council.

The 16th ACC Men’s Cricket Asia Cup 2023  was played in One Day International (ODI) format ,where each team was allotted a maximum 50 overs .

Records created at the 16th ACC Men’s Cricket Asia Cup 2023

  • The India team has now won the men’s Cricket Asia cup for a record 8th time . It has won the 1984,1988,1990,1995,2010,2016,2018 and 2023 editions.
  • Sri Lanka is the second most successful team in the tournament having won the trophy 6 times and Pakistan has won it 2 times. 
  • This was the third ever shortest One Day International in terms of delivery bowled . The match lasted only 129 deliveries.
  • India recorded its biggest win chasing (balls remaining) in ODI cricket, winning the match with 263 balls to spare.
  • Rohit Sharma became the third Indian captain to win two ODI Asia Cup titles, level with MS Dhoni(2010,2016) and Mohammed Azharuddin(1990,1995).
  • Siraj became the first Indian bowler, fourth overall, to bag four wickets in an over in ODIs.

Awards and Honours in the 16th ACC Men’s Cricket Asia Cup 2023 

The Man of the match of the final was Muhammad Siraj. 

The player of the series was Kuldeep Yadav of India  for his 9 wickets in the tournament. 

Chairman of Asian Cricket Council : Jay Shah


Answer : Colombo, Sri Lanka

Answer : Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2010,2016) and Mohammed Azharuddin(1990,1995). Rohit Sharma won it in 2018 and 2023.

Answer : Kuldeep Yadav of India . He took 9 wickets in 5 matches.

Answer : 8 times . India has won the trophy in 984,1988,1990,1995,2010,2016,2018 and 2023.

Answer : muhammad Siraj

Answer : Rahul Dravid

Answer : Dasun Shanaka.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.