Home > Current Affairs > International > ASEAN countries conducted ASEAN Solidarity Exercise near South China Sea

ASEAN countries conducted ASEAN Solidarity Exercise near South China Sea

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 04-12-2023
ASEAN countries conducted ASEAN Solidarity Exercise near South China Sea Defence 3 min read

ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) countries began their first joint naval exercise named ‘ASEAN Solidarity Exercise’ near the South China Sea on 19 September 2023.

The five-day (19 September to 23 September 2023) exercise is being conducted in the Natuna waters of Indonesia, which is located near the South China Sea.

  • ASEAN countries launched this exercise at a time when many member states are reacting more strongly to increasing Chinese aggression in the region.

ASEAN Solidarity Exercise:

  • According to Indonesian military chief Admiral Yudo Margono, the non-combat exercise named 'ASEAN Solidarity Exercise' includes joint maritime patrol operations, search and rescue operations and humanitarian and disaster relief.

The objective of the exercise:

  • The five-day exercise, held in the Natuna waters of Indonesia, aims to boost military ties and enhance interoperability among ASEAN countries.

ASEAN countries signal China through naval exercise:

  • However, this practice has also involved civilian organisations in humanitarian relief and disaster prevention.
  • ASEAN countries have previously participated in naval exercises with other countries. In which both America and China used to participate, but in this week's exercise, only ASEAN countries are included.
  • This move of ASEAN countries is being seen by strategists as a signal to China.
  • China's 'nine-dash line', which it uses to demarcate its claim to most of the South China Sea.
  • China's move has embroiled it in a tense standoff with rival claimants Vietnam, Malaysia, Brunei and the Philippines.

ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations):

  • ASEAN was established in 1967 with the signing by the founding nations of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration).
  • ASEAN is a group of ten countries which is considered one of the most influential groupings in Southeast Asia.
  • ASEAN includes Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, Brunei, Philippines, Singapore, Cambodia, Malaysia and Myanmar.
  • ASEAN countries are located at strategically important intersections of the Indo-Pacific region, making ASEAN a focal point for regional and global powers.
  • Founding Nations: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.


Ans. - ASEAN Solidarity Exercise

Ans. - Natuna Watershed of Indonesia (located near the South China Sea).

Ans. - joint naval exercises
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.