Home > Current Affairs > International > South Africa Wins It's 4th World Rugby Title Defeating New Zealand

South Africa Wins It's 4th World Rugby Title Defeating New Zealand

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 03-11-2023
South Africa Wins It's 4th World Rugby Title Defeating New Zealand Sport 8 min read

This year Rugby World Cup was held in France in which the South African rugby team also known as Springboks, made history by winning their fourth Rugby World Cup title named Webb Ellis Cup, after a 12-11 win over the New Zealand rugby team, also known as All Blacks and winning for a record fourth time in the final at Stade de France in Paris.


Handre Pollard, who was not named to the Springboks' initial Rugby World Cup squad, scored all of South Africa's points in a 12-11 victory over New Zealand in Paris. Also, All Blacks captain Sam Cane's yellow card being upgraded to a red card in the first half has become the main reason for their defeat.

About Rugby

Rugby is a football game played by two teams of 15 players (in rugby union play) or 13 players (in rugby league play) using an oval ball on a pitch, which is a rectangular field. At both ends of the field, there are H-shaped goalposts.

Rugby union or Rugby league is played between two teams, and the team with the most points wins the game.


About the Rugby World Cup

Rugby World Cup winners are awarded the Webb Ellis Cup, named after William Webb Ellis, who invented Rugby. The first Rugby World Cup was held in 1987 and co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand. The only country that has won the Rugby World Cup four times is South Africa. 

The 2019 Rugby World Cup was held in Japan, and the 2023 Rugby World Cup was held in France. In 2027 it will be hosted by Australia

India and Rugby

Rugby is not a very popular sport in India, however, India has a Rugby national Union Team which represents India in international rugby championships and matches. This team was admitted to the IRB in 2001, but it took 3 years for India to win a match, beating Pakistan 56–3 in the third-tier competition of the Asian Biennial tournament. Since 2005 India has been trying to qualify for entry into the World Cup but has not managed to qualify. 

Terms that are usually used in Rugby

The main goal of the game is to touch the ball down in the opponent's in-goal area (tryzone) for a five-point score. In contrast to American football, the ball must be touched to the ground before points are awarded. Tries are where touchdowns in American football begin. 


The area inside the goal where tries are scored. 


A two-point kick is awarded to the scoring team immediately following a try. Conversions must be kicked in the same direction as the try. Players in rugby sevens may not use a tee and must kick the conversion with a drop-kick (tossing the ball above the feet and kicking it before it hits the ground).


When the ball goes out of bounds or outside the field of play, it is called a touchline. 


A tackle occurs when the ball carrier is brought down and held by one or more opponents. Following a tackle, a ball carrier must immediately release the ball. 



A ruck occurs when the ball is on the ground and at least one player from each team closes in on it while standing. The ball cannot be handled in the ruck; instead, players must move it until it reaches the hindmost foot of a teammate and can be picked up. 


When the ball carrier is held by one or more opponents and one or more teammates bind on to him or her. A minimum of three players must be involved, and the ball must be off the ground. 


A method of restarting play following an infringement. The forwards of each team bind together and connect with the forwards of the opposing team. The scrum half of the non-offending team throws the ball into the middle of the tunnel.


When a player is removed from the game and forced to sit out for 10 minutes (rugby fifteens) or two minutes (rugby sevens) for dangerous play or serious infringements, this is referred to as a sin bin. 

Some International events of Rugby

World Cup (men) - 

The Rugby World Cup is an international rugby union competition held every four years that serves as the highest event of the sport. 

The Women's World Cup - 

The Women's World Cup has been held every four years since 1991. 

Rugby World Cup 7s - 

The Rugby World Cup Sevens is the premier separate international rugby sevens competition, held every four years and organised by the International Rugby Board (IRB).


Commonwealth Games Rugby Sevens is a core sport of the Commonwealth Games that has been played since 1998.

Upcoming events of Rugby in 2023

Doha 7s, Asia Rugby Men's and Women's Sevens Trophy  Qatar, 3-4 Nov.

Kitakyushu 7s #RoadToParis2024 Kitakyushu, Japan 18-19 Nov.



Ans. Stade de France in Paris

Ans. Springboks.

Ans. All Blacks

Ans. 1987

Ans. Rugby

Ans. 2001

Ans. Springbok

Ans. The springbok, the only southern African gazelle, is the national animal of South Africa.

Ans. Australia

Ans Siya Kolisi
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.