Home > Current Affairs > National > INS Jatayu: New Navy Base will commission in Minicoy, Lakshadweep

INS Jatayu: New Navy Base will commission in Minicoy, Lakshadweep

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 07-03-2024
INS Jatayu: New Navy Base will commission in Minicoy, Lakshadweep Defence 4 min read

The Naval Detachment Minicoy will be commissioned as INS Jatayu on March 6th, 2024, in the presence of Admiral R Hari Kumar, Chief of the Naval Staff. 

  • This event signifies a significant milestone in the Navy's commitment to gradually enhance the security infrastructure at the strategically important Lakshadweep Islands.

Naval Detachment Minicoy

  • In the early 1980s Naval Detachment Minicoy was established. 
  • It was established under the command of Naval Officer-in-Charge (Lakshadweep). 
  • Minicoy is strategically located on the Sea Lines of Communications. The establishment of an independent Naval unit, complete with necessary infrastructure and resources, will significantly enhance the overall operational capability of the Indian Navy in the region. 
  • This base will improve operational reach and enable the Indian Navy to more effectively conduct Anti-Piracy and Anti-Narcotics Operations in the Western Arabian Sea, while also enhancing their ability to serve as the first responder in the area and improving connectivity with the mainland. 
  • This establishment of a Naval base fully aligns with the Indian government's focus on comprehensive development of the islands.

INS Jatayu

  • The commissioning of INS Jatayu marks the Indian Navy's second Naval base in Lakshadweep, following INS Dweeprakshak in Kavaratti. 
  • This move will fortify the Indian Navy's presence in the Lakshadweep islands and enable them to extend operational surveillance, reach, and sustenance. 
  • Furthermore, this development will usher in a new era of capacity building and comprehensive development of the island territories.

Indian Naval Bases

  • The Indian Navy has several major bases located throughout the country, including Mumbai, Goa, Karwar, Kochi, Chennai, Visakhapatnam, Kolkata, and Port Blair. 
  • The Navy's biggest ships are divided between its two Fleets, which are groups of ships operating under one authority. 
  • The Western Fleet is stationed in Mumbai, while the Eastern Fleet is based in Visakhapatnam. Additionally, the Navy operates Flotillas of ships, Squadrons of submarines and various types of aircraft from several Naval Air Stations.
  • As a multi-dimensional force, the Indian Navy is dedicated to safeguarding India's maritime territorial integrity and other maritime interests. 
  • The Navy is led by the Chief of the Naval Staff (CNS), who holds the rank of Admiral and has his headquarters in New Delhi.

Commands of Indian Navy

The Indian Navy comprises two Operational Commands and a Training Command. These are as follows: 

- The Western Naval Command located in Mumbai 

- The Eastern Naval Command situated in Visakhapatnam 

- The Southern Naval Command serves as the Training Command, located in Kochi. Each Command is led by a Vice-Admiral who holds the position of 'Flag Officer Commander-in-Chief'


Answer: Naval Base

Answer: Minicoy, Lakshadweep

answer: INS Dweeprakshak in Kavaratti
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.