Home > Current Affairs > State > Expansion of Tenughat Thermal Power Station, Bokaro, Jharkhand

Expansion of Tenughat Thermal Power Station, Bokaro, Jharkhand

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 26-01-2024
Expansion of Tenughat Thermal Power Station, Bokaro, Jharkhand Jharkhand 3 min read

Coal India Limited's Central Coalfields Limited is exploring a joint venture with the Jharkhand government for the second phase of the expansion of Tenughat Thermal Power Station (TTPS) in the state.

  • The total installed capacity of the thermal station is 420 megawatts (MW), with two units of 210 MW capacity each.

About Tenughat Thermal Power Station (TTPS)

  • Tenughat Thermal Power Station (TTPS) is a coal-based thermal power plant located in Lalpania village of Bokaro district in the Indian state of Jharkhand. 
  • It is owned by the Jharkhand State-owned company Tenughat Vidyut Nigam Limited, which was incorporated in 1987 under the Companies Act of 1956.
  • The TTPS consists of two units with an installed capacity of 210 MW each. The first unit was commercially operational in September 1996, followed by the second in September 1997. Both units are performing well above national standards.
  • Tenughat Vidyut Nigam Limited (TVNL) intends to set up a coal-fired supercritical unit extension project (Stage II) with a capacity of 2X660 MW at the TTPS located in Lalpania, Bokaro district, Jharkhand.
  • Two panels will be constituted to work out the partnership modalities, including the percentage of partnership by both parties.
  •  CCL produced 76.09 million metric tonnes of coal in FY 2022-23 and set a production target of 84 million metric tonnes for FY 2023-24.
  • The TTPS project site is developed with modern infrastructure like schools, hospitals, banks, post offices, marketing complexes, etc. The nearest railway station is Gomia, located approximately 20 km away from the project site.

Coal India Limited

  • Coal India Limited (CIL), the state-owned coal mining corporation, came into being in November 1975. 
  • CIL is a Maharatna company - Maharatna status is provided by the Government of India. It helps companies to expand their operations and emerge as global giants.
  • Headquarters: Kolkata, West Bengal.
  • Chairman-cum-Managing Director: PM Prasad

Other Thermal Power Plant in Jharkhand

Bokaro Thermal Power Station, Chandrapura Thermal Power Station, Godda Thermal Power Station, Jojobera Power Plant, Koderma Thermal Power Station, Maithon Power Plant, Matrishri Usha Jayaswal Mega Power Plant, North Karanpura Thermal Power Station, Patratu Super Thermal Power Project.


Answer: Lalpania, Bokaro, Jharkhand

Answer: 1975

Answer: Maharatna

Answer: Jharkhand
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.