Home > Current Affairs > International > Djokovic, Biles, Bonmatí & Bellingham Winners of Laureus Sports Awards

Djokovic, Biles, Bonmatí & Bellingham Winners of Laureus Sports Awards

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 29-04-2024
Djokovic, Biles, Bonmatí & Bellingham Winners of Laureus Sports Awards Award and Honour 5 min read

Novak Djokovic, Simone Biles, Aitana Bonmatí, and Jude Bellingham were honored at the 2024 Laureus Sports Awards ceremony held in Madrid. The event was a grand celebration of the world's best athletes and their achievements.

  • Novak Djokovic, the world's top-ranked tennis player, was named the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year for the fifth time, matching Roger Federer's record for the most decorated male athlete in this category. Djokovic had previously won this award in 2012, 2015, 2016, and 2019.
  • Simone Biles, an American artistic gymnast, became the most decorated gymnast in history, with 37 World and Olympic medals. She was recognized for her outstanding contributions to the sport.
  • Aitana Bonmati, a Barcelona and Spain football star, made history as the first footballer to win the Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year award. She was praised for her exceptional skills and sportsmanship.
  • Jude Bellingham, an English professional footballer who plays as a midfielder for Real Madrid and the England national team, was also honored at the ceremony. Carlos Alcaraz, a tennis ace and Real Madrid fan, presented the award to Bellingham in recognition of his contributions to the sport.
  • Tom Brady, a seven-time Super Bowl champion, and Usain Bolt, the sprinting GOAT, presented the awards to Djokovic and Bonmati, respectively. The event was a fitting tribute to the world's greatest athletes and their achievements.

List of 2024 Laureus Sports Awards

  • Laureus World 
    • Sportsman of the Year Award: Novak Djokovic
    • Sportswoman of the Year Award: Aitana Bonmati
    • Comeback of the Year Award: Simone Biles
    • Breakthrough of the Year Award: Jude Bellingham
    • Team of the Year Award: Spain Women's Football Team
    • Action Sportsperson of the Year Award: Arisa Trew
    • Laureus Sport for Good Award: Fundaci³n Rafa Nadal
    • Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Award: Diede de Groot

Laureus Sports Awards

  • The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual event that started in 2000. It celebrates great and inspiring sporting achievements and also showcases Laureus Sport for Good's initiatives. 
  • Shortlists for seven categories, which include Sportswoman, Sportsman, Team, Breakthrough, Comeback, Action and Sport for Good, are created by votes from over 1,000 sports media from more than 70 countries.
  • The International Paralympic Committee shortlists World Athlete of the Year with a Disability.
  • The winners in each category are voted by the Laureus World Sports Academy, a unique group of sporting legends. 
  • The Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award is also given by the Academy.. 
  • The Awards are broadcast globally, and they provide a platform for supporting Laureus Sport for Good by showcasing the incredible work done to transform young lives worldwide. 
  • The Laureus Sport for Good Award recognizes one programme each year for its outstanding work. 

The Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar won the Laureus Sporting Moment Award (2000-2020). 

Neeraj Chopra, an Indian Tokyo Olympics gold medalist, is the third Indian after Vinesh Phogat and Sachin Tendulkar who was nominated for the Laureus World Sports Awards.


Answer: Novak Djokovic

Answer: Sachin Tendulkar

Answer: Sachin Tendulkar, Vinesh Phogat and Neeraj Chopra

Answer: Aitana Bonmat­
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.