Home > Current Affairs > International > China wins both Thomas and Uber Cup Badminton titles

China wins both Thomas and Uber Cup Badminton titles

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 10-05-2024
China wins both Thomas and Uber Cup Badminton titles Sport 5 min read

The Chinese badminton team confirmed its domination of the sport by winning both the men’s Tomas Cup and the women’s Uber Cup. The final of the 2024 BWF Thomas and Uber Cup was played in the Chinese city of Chengdu on May 5, 2024.

Thomas and Uber Cup is held every two years and is organised by the world badminton governing body, the Badminton World Federation (BWF).

In both the Thomas and Uber Cup, three singles and two doubles matches are played. However, if a team wins the first two singles and the first doubles, then no other matches are played.

The 2024 edition of the Thomas and Uber Cup was held in Chengdu, China, from 27 April to 5 May 2024.

2024 BWF Thomas and Uber Cup 

For the first time since 2012, Chinese badminton has won both the men's and women's titles at the world team championships.

Thomas Cup 

China defeated Indonesia 4-1 to win the Thomas Cup for the 11th time. 

16 teams participated in the Thomas Cup, including India. However, the Indian team lost to China in the quarterfinals 3-1 to crash out of the championship. India was the defending champion. 

The Indian team won the Thomas Cup held in Bangkok, Thailand, in 2022.

Uber Cup 

The Chinese women's team defeated Indonesia 3-0 to win the Uber Cup for the 16th time.   The Chinese women's team dominated the event by winning 24 straight games throughout the tournament.

The Indian women's team lost in the quarter-finals to Japan 3-0. 

About Thomas Cup 

The Thomas Cup is also known as the World Men’s Badminton Team Championship.

The cup is named after the  Founder-President of the International Badminton Federation (now BWF), Sir George Thomas. He proposed that there should be a men’s team event in Badminton just like the Davis Cup in Men’s tennis.

The first Thomas Cup was held in 1948-49, and Malaysia won it by defeating Denmark in the final.

To date, only six countries have won the Thomas Cup

Indonesia has been the most successful team in the event, winning it 15 times. China has won the title 11 times. Malaysia has won it 5 times, Japan has won it once, and  India has won it once in 2022.

The only non-Asian country to win the Thomas Cup was Denmark in 2016.

The 2024 Thomas Cup champion team is China.

About Uber Cup 

The Women’s Badminton Team Championship is also popularly known as Uber Cup. The trophy has been named after England’s great badminton player Betty Uber who designed and donated the trophy.

Since 1984, Uber has been held along with the Thomas Cup at the same venue. It is also held every two years

The first Uber Cup was held in 1956-57 and it was won by the USA team.

China is the most successful team, having won it 16 times, and Japan has won it 6 times. The Indian women's team has never won the Uber Cup.

The 2024 champion team is China.


Answer: China. It was the 11th title win for China.

Answer: China. It was the 16th title win for China.

Answer: Badminton. The women’s Team Championship is called the Uber Cup, and the Men’s Team Championship is known as the Thomas Cup.

Answer: Chengdu, China

Answer: In 2022.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.