Home > Current Affairs > State > Bhajan Lal Sharma Sworn As The New Chief Minister Of Rajasthan

Bhajan Lal Sharma Sworn As The New Chief Minister Of Rajasthan

Utkarsh Classes 12-12-2023
Bhajan Lal Sharma Sworn As The New Chief Minister Of Rajasthan Rajasthan 6 min read

Bhajan Lal Sharma took the oath as the new Chief Minister of Rajasthan on 15 December 2023. Along with Bhajan Lal Sharma, two Deputy Chief Ministers, Diya Kumari and Premchand Bairwa, also took the oath. Governor Kalraj Mishra administered the oath to all three persons. The swearing-in ceremony was held in front of Albert Hall in Jaipur.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, and Chief Ministers of many other states, including Goa and Tripura, also participated in this oath ceremony.

  • The name of Bhajan Lal Sharma as the new Chief Minister of Rajasthan was announced on 12 December 2023.
  • Bhajan Lal Sharma's name was announced unanimously in the Bharatiya Janata Party Legislative Party meeting.
  • On the same day Vasudev Devnani was nominated the Speaker of Rajasthan Legislative Assembly.
  • Bhajan Lal Sharma is the 14th person to become the Chief Minister of Rajasthan.
  • Earlier, Bharatiya Janata Party had sent Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Saroj Pandey, and Vinod Tawde to Jaipur as observers.

About the new Chief Minister of Rajasthan, Bhajan Lal Sharma:

  • Bhajan Lal is a resident of Bharatpur.
  • Bhajan Lal Sharma has been elected MLA for the first time from the Sanganer Assembly constituency of Jaipur.
  • BJP has given tickets to Bhajan Lal Sharma in place of current MLA Ashok Lauhati in the 2023 assembly elections.
  • Bhajan Lal Sharma defeated Pushpendra Bhardwaj of the Congress Party by 48081 votes.

Rajasthan Assembly Elections (2023): 

  • The election notification was issued by the Election Commission on 30 October.
  • Assembly elections were held in Rajasthan on 25 November and counting of votes was done on 3 December 2023.
  • In the elections held on 199 seats out of the total 200 seats of Rajasthan Assembly, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) got 115 seats, Congress 69 seats, BSP 2 and others 13 seats.

Chief Minister of Rajasthan:

  • Rajasthan has seen the tenure of 13 Chief Ministers (as individuals) since 1949, starting with Hiralal Shastri.
  • In this, Ashok Gehlot, who has held the charge of Chief Minister for the longest time (more than 14 years), has been the Chief Minister of the state three times.
  • Whereas the second longest tenure is in the name of former Chief Minister Mohanlal Sukhadia. He has become the Chief Minister of the state a total of four times for short terms. 
  • Vasundhara Raje Scindia of the Bharatiya Janata Party is the only woman Chief Minister of Rajasthan to hold office for a full term of 5 years. She has been the Chief Minister of the state two times.
  • President's rule has been imposed in Rajasthan three times so far.
  • In Rajasthan, Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party have been coming to power in the state one by one.

Ashok Gehlot held the post of CM in Rajasthan for three times:

  • First time: 01 December 1998 to 08 December 2003
  • Second time: 12 December 2008 to 13 December 2013
  • Third time: 17 December 2018 to December 2023

Vasundhara Raje Scindia held the post of CM of Rajasthan twice:

  • First time: 08 December 2003 to 11 December 2008
  • Second time: 13 December 2013 to 16 December 2018

CM of Rajasthan for the shortest time:

  • Hira Lal Devpura (Congress) held the post of Chief Minister for only 16 days from 23 February 1985 to 10 March 1985.

Muslim Chief Minister in Rajasthan:

  • Barkatullah Khan (Congress) served as the only Muslim Chief Minister of the state from 09 July 1971 to 11 August 1973.
  • A stadium has been constructed in Jodhpur in the name of Barkatullah Khan.

President's rule has been imposed in Rajasthan a total of three times:

  • First time: 13 March 1967 to 26 April 1967
  • Second time: 29 April 1977 to 22 June 1977
  • Third time: 15 December 1992 to 04 December 1993

First in the state of Rajasthan:

  • First Chief Minister: Hira Lal Shastri (Congress) 07 April 1949 to 05 January 1951
  • First Governor: Sardar Gurmukh Nihal Singh (1 November 1956 to 15 April 1962)


Answer:- Bhajan Lal Sharma

Answer:- Sanganer Assembly constituency (Jaipur)

Answer:- Diya Kumari and Prem Chand Bairwa have been made the Deputy Chief Ministers of Rajasthan.

Answer:- Bhajan Lal Sharma became the 14th Chief Minister of Rajasthan as an individual.

Answer:- Vasudev Devnani
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.