Home > Current Affairs > International > G7 Foreign Minister Meeting at Capri Condemns Iran Attack on Israel

G7 Foreign Minister Meeting at Capri Condemns Iran Attack on Israel

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 20-04-2024
G7 Foreign Minister Meeting at Capri Condemns Iran Attack on Israel Meeting 7 min read

The foreign ministers' meeting of the Group of Seven (G-7) was held in the Italian city of Capri from 17 to 19 April 2024. The meeting of the world’s advanced industrial economy was held against the backdrop of Iran’s attack on Israel and the continuing wars in Gaza and Ukraine.

Foreign ministers of Italy, Germany, France, the United Kingdom, Japan, Canada, and the United States attended the foreign ministers' meeting. Representatives of the European Union also participated in the meeting.

Foreign Ministers Meeting In Capri and Iran -Israel Conflict

Italy is the current chairman of the G7 countries, and Italian Foreign Minister Antonio Tajani hosted the G7 foreign minister meeting.

After the meeting, the G7 country's foreign ministers issued three communiques on world affairs.

Situation in West Asia (Middle East): The G7 foreign minister condemned the missile and drone attack by Iran against Israel on  April 13. They said that they would impose sanctions and take other measures against Iran. It also urged Iran and Israel to prevent further escalation of the conflict. 

Israel's attack in Damascus 

Iran launched hundreds of missiles and drones against Israel on 13 April to avenge the Israeli attack on its consulate in Damascus, Syria, on 1 April 2024. In the Israeli attack on the Iranian consulate in Damascus, 13 people were killed, including seven top officers of the Iranian Revolutionary Guard.

Those killed included Brig Gen Mohammad Reza Zahedi, who was a senior commander in the Quds Force. The Quds Force is the overseas branch of Iran's elite Republican Guards. Brig Gen Mohammad Reza Zahed played a crucial role in the Iranian operation to supply arms and ammunition to the militant Shia group Hezbollah of Lebanon.

The Iranian attack on Israel failed to hit the target, and 99 per cent of the attack was neutralised by the Israeli air defence system Iron Dome and by friendly countries. According to Israel, the United States, the United Kingdom, France and Jordan also intercepted and destroyed the Iranian drones and missiles.

In retaliation, Israel attacked targets in the Isfahan province on 19 April. The Isfahan province is home to significant Iranian military infrastructure, including a large airbase, a major missile production complex and several nuclear facilities. Iran is suspected of building nuclear weapons, and the nuclear facilities in the Isfahan region are considered to be a part of its nuclear weapon complex.

Support to Ukraine 

The G7 foreign ministers reiterated their support for Ukraine in its war against Russia. Russia attacked Ukraine on 24 February 2022, and the war is still going on.

Global Issue:

The G7 foreign ministers also emphasised their commitment to the rule of law, humanitarian principles, international law, and protecting human rights. They called for promoting a free and open Indo-Pacific.

Group of Seven Countries (G7)

Group of Seven or G7 is an informal group of seven of the world’s advanced western economies Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, the United States, as well as the European Union. 

Initially, the group was established by the major western economic powers as a platform to discuss and further economic and financial cooperation in response to the 1973 oil crisis. It was initially an ad hoc group of finance ministers of advanced Western countries. Later the group was formalised and the first Summit of Heads of State and Government was held in 1975 in Rambouillet, France. 

Members: Initially, the Group consisted of six members-  France, the United States of America, the United Kingdom, Germany, Japan, and Italy. 

Canada was included as the seventh member in 1976.

In 1997, Russia was made a member of the group, and it was called G8. Russia was later expelled from the group in 2014 after it annexed the Crimea region of Ukraine. After the expulsion of Russia, the group was again renamed G7. 

The European Economic Community, now the European Union, has participated in the G7 meetings since 1977. 

Rotating presidency of the G7. 

Every year, a member of the G7 hosts the annual summit. The host country, also known as the G7 presidency, rotates annually among member countries in the following order: France, the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, Japan, Italy, and Canada. However, the European Union does not hold the rotating presidency of the G7.

Italy currently holds the G7 presidency and will host the 50th G7 Summit in Apulia from June 13 to 15, 2024.

Headquarters: There is no permanent headquarters of the G7.


Answer: Italy. G7 foreign Minister meeting was held here in April 2024

Answer: Antonio Tajani

Answer: Iran. The Iranian nuclear facilities are located here.

Answer: Italian city of Apulia in June 2024

Answer: In 1975 in Rambouillet, France.

Answer: Israel
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.