Home > Current Affairs > State > First Heritage Train of Gujarat Flagged Off By PM Modi

First Heritage Train of Gujarat Flagged Off By PM Modi

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 31-10-2023
First Heritage Train of Gujarat Flagged Off By PM Modi Place in News 5 min read

The Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi, inaugurated Gujarat's first-ever heritage train. The train will be pulled by an electric engine that has been designed to resemble a steam locomotive and has wooden interiors.

  • This three-coach train will connect Ekta Nagar or Kevadia, where the Statue of Unity and Sardar Vallabhai Patel's memorial are located, to Ahmedabad. 
  • This new train is a great addition to the attractions available at Ekta Nagar. It reflects the glorious heritage of the region and is designed with modern amenities. Although the engine looks like a steam engine, it will be powered by electricity.

Ekta Nagar Railway Station

  • The Ministry of Railways renamed Kevadia railway station to Ekta Nagar Railway Station in 2022 which falls under Vadodara division of Gujarat.
  • This station falls under the premise of Statue of Unity which is the tallest statue in the world.
  • Statue of Unity is the statue of Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel

About Statue of Unity 

  • A statue has been erected as a tribute to India's first Home Minister, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, who was instrumental in uniting all 562 princely states of the country to form the Republic of India. 
  • Located in Kevadia, Gujarat, the world's tallest statue, the Statue of Unity, was inaugurated on October 31st, 2018. 
  • The 182-metre monument is a dedication to the architect of independent India and overlooks the Narmada River, symbolizing the people of Gujarat's gratitude towards the leader who prioritized their welfare. 
  • The statue stands on the Sadhu Bet hillock and is connected to the mainland by a 300-metre bridge that offers access to visitors. 
  • The Statue of Unity also provides a panoramic view of the sprawling Sardar Sarovar dam and the river basin of the Narmada River, with the dramatic Satpura and Vindhyachal hills forming a stunning backdrop.

Heritage Railways of India

Indian Railways takes pride in owning four UNESCO World Heritage Sites, which are the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway (1999), Nilgiri Mountain Railway (2005), Kalka Shimla Railway (2008), and Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus, Mumbai (2004). Additionally, two more sites, namely Matheran Light Railway and Kangra Valley Railway, are in the tentative list for the same recognition.

Darjeeling Himalayan Railways (DHR)

The Darjeeling Himalayan Railway, inscribed by UNESCO in 1999, is a narrow-gauge railway that spans 88.48 kilometers and connects New Jalpaiguri with Darjeeling, passing through Ghoom, which is situated at an altitude of 2,258 meters. The railway's unique design features six zigzag reverses and three loops, all with a ruling gradient of 1:31.

Nilgiri Mountain Railways (NMR)

The Nilgiri Mountain Railway (NMR), inscribed in 2005, is a metre gauge railway in Nilgiris district, Tamil Nadu, India, built by the British in 1908.

Kalka Shimla Railway (KSR)

The Kalka–Shimla Railway, inscribed in 2004, is a narrow-gauge railway in North India which traverses a mostly mountainous route from Kalka to Shimla.

Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus, Mumbai (CSMT)

Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus, inscribed in 2004, also known as Bombay V.T or Victoria Terminus, is a remarkable example of late 19th-century railway architecture in the British Commonwealth. The building is characterized by a blend of Victoria Gothic Revival and traditional Indian features, as well as advanced structural and technical features.



Answer: Ekta Nagar to Ahmedabad

Answer: It is home to world’s tallest statue that is Statue of Unity

Answer: Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel

Answer: 182-metre

Answer: Kevadia railway station
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.