Home > Current Affairs > State > Manindra Mohan Shrivastava Took Oath as Chief Justice of Rajasthan HC

Manindra Mohan Shrivastava Took Oath as Chief Justice of Rajasthan HC

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 06-02-2024
Manindra Mohan Shrivastava Took Oath as Chief Justice of Rajasthan HC Rajasthan 4 min read

Governor of Rajasthan, Kalraj Mishra, administered the oath of office to Manindra Mohan Srivastava, who took the oath in Hindi, as the Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court at Raj Bhavan.

  • Justice Augustine George Masih has been replaced by Justice Manindra Mohan Srivastava as the new Chief Justice of the Rajasthan High Court, making him the 42nd Chief Justice of the court. 
  • Governor Kalraj Mishra administered the new Chief Justice the oath of office and secrecy. 
  • At the beginning of the ceremony, Chief Secretary Sudhansh Pant requested the Governor to administer the oath to Manindra Mohan Srivastava. 
  • Before the oath-taking, he read the appointment notification and warrant of the Chief Justice issued by President Draupadi Murmu.

Appointment of Chief Justice

  • As per Article 217 of the Constitution, the President must appoint a Judge of a High Court in consultation with the Chief Justice of India (CJI) and the Governor of the respective state. 
  • However, in the case of appointing a Judge other than the Chief Justice, the Chief Justice of the High Court will be consulted.

About Rajasthan High Court

  • In the 7th year of the Republic of India, the parliament enacted the States Reorganisation Act of 1956. 
  • This act aimed to reorganise the States of India and other connected matters. Section 49 of the Act of 1956 created a new High Court, known as the High Court of Rajasthan. 
  • Before this, the Government of India had informed the Rajasthan Government via telegram on October 27, 1956, that Jodhpur would be the principal seat of the High Court in the new State of Rajasthan, effective November 1, 1956. 
  • Accordingly, on November 1, 1956, the then Chief Justice of Rajasthan issued a notification establishing a temporary bench of the High Court at Jaipur.
  • In July 1957, a committee composed of Sarva Shri P. Satyanarain Rao, V. Vishwanathan, and B.K. Gupta was formed. 
    • The committee submitted its report on February 26, 1958, recommending that the capital should stay in Jaipur and the principal seat of the High Court should remain in Jodhpur.
  • The Rajasthan High Court currently has a sanctioned strength of 50 judges. 
  • Kamal Kant Verma was the first Chief Justice of the Rajasthan High Court.


Answer: Justice Manindra Mohan Srivastava

Answer: Article 217

Answer: The President

Answer: Kamal Kant Verma

Answer: The Governor
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.