Home > Current Affairs > State > Hemant Soren Sworn in as the CM of Jharkhand for the third time

Hemant Soren Sworn in as the CM of Jharkhand for the third time

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 05-07-2024
Hemant Soren Sworn in as the CM of Jharkhand for the third time Appointment 4 min read

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) leader Hemant Soren was sworn in as the chief minister of Jharkhand on 4 July 2024 for the third time. He was administered the oath of office and secrecy as the 13th chief minister of Jharkhand by Governor C.P.Radhakrishnan at a ceremony in the Rajbhavan in Ranchi,

This is the third time Hemant Soren has been sworn in as the Chief Minister of Jharkhand. He was first sworn in as chief minister in 2013 and remained in office till 2014. He was again made the chief minister from 2019 till his resignation on 31 January 2024.

Shibu Soren as 13th CM of Jharkhand 

Shibu Soren was sworn in as the Jharkhand chief minister on 4 July 2024 after the JMM party's incumbent chief minister, Champai Soren, resigned. The ruling alliance legislators elected Hemant Soren as its new leader, and then the governor invited Hemant Soren to form the government.

Hemant Soren resigned as the chief minister of Jharkhand on 31 January 2024  before he was arrested by the Enforcement Directorate in a money laundering case. The Jharkhand High Court granted bail to Hemant Soren on 28 June 2024 in the alleged land scam case. 

Hemant Soren heads a Mahagathbandhan alliance in the state, which includes his party JMM, Congress, Rashtriya Janata Dal and left parties. In the 2019 assembly election, the Mahagathbandhan won 47 seats in the 81-member Jharkhand Legislative Assembly.

Chief Ministers of Jharkhand 

Jharkhand was created on 15 November 2000 as the 28th state of India after the enactment of the Bihar Reorganisation Act 2000. 

Seven people have served as its chief minister to date. Babulal Marandi was the first chief minister of Jharkhand.

Serial Number 

Chief Minister 


Political Party


Babulal  Maranadi

15 March 2000-17 March 2003

Bharatiya Janata Party


Arjun Munda 

18 March 2003-02 March 2005 

Bharatiya Janata Party


Shibu Soren 

2 March 2005 – 12 March 2005

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha


Arjun Munda 

12 March 2005 – 19 September 2006

Bharatiya Janata Party


Madhu Koda 

19 September 2006 -27 August 2008



Shibu Soren 

27 August 2008- 18 January 2009

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha


Shibu Soren 

30 December 2009- I June 2010

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha


Arjun Munda 

11 September 2010-18 January 2013

Bharatiya Janata Party


Hemant Soren 

13 July 2013- 28 December 2014

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha


Raghubar Das 

28 December 2014-23 December 2019

Bharatiya Janata Party


Hemant Soren 

27 December 2019 - 31 January 2024

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha


Champai Soren 

2 February 2024- 4 July 2024 

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha


Hemant Soren 

4 July 2024- 

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha


Answer: Jharkhand Mukti Morcha

Answer: C.P.Radhakrishnan

Answer: Babulal Marandai of the Bharatiya Janata Party

Answer: Raghubar Das of Bharatiya Janata Party 2014-2019.

Answer: Madhu Koda. He was independent.

Answer: Seven- Babulal Marandai, Arjun Munda, Shibu Soren, Raghubar Das, Madhu Koda and Hemant Soren.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.