Home > Current Affairs > National > Election Commission Announced Assembly Election Dates in 5 States

Election Commission Announced Assembly Election Dates in 5 States

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 29-01-2024
Election Commission Announced Assembly Election Dates in 5 States Committee and Commission 4 min read

The Election Commission announced Assembly elections in Chhattisgarh, MP, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Telangana will be held from November 7 and the counting of votes will take place on December 3.

Key Takeaways from Current Meeting

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar said that the Assembly Elections 2023 will see 60.2 lakh first-time voters. There will be 8.2 crore male and 7.8 crore female voters. There will be 1.77 lakh polling stations across the five states for Assembly Elections. Additionally, webcasting facilities will be available at 1.01 lakh booths to enhance transparency and monitor the polling process.

  • Election Commission of India is committed to conduct free, fair, participative, accessible, inclusive and safe election to the Legislative Assemblies of Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Telangana before the cessation of their terms, in exercise of the authority and powers conferred upon under Article 324 read with Article 172 (1) of the Constitution of India and Section 15 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951.

The cVIGIL app can be used to file complaints, and action will be taken within 100 minutes.

According to the schedule, all states will have single-phase voting except Chhattisgarh where Assembly Elections will be held in two phases.

Polling Dates for Assembly Elections 2023

  • Chhattisgarh:

Phase 1: November 7, 2023

Phase 2: November 17, 2023

Seats: 90

  • Rajasthan: November 23, 2023

Seats: 200

  • Madhya Pradesh: November 17, 2023

Seats: 230

  • Telangana: November 30, 2023

Seats: 119

  • Mizoram: November 7, 2023

Seats: 40

About Election Commission of India

The Election Commission of India Under Article 324 has been granted the responsibility of supervising, directing, and managing the entire electoral process for Parliament and the Legislature of each State, as well as for the President and Vice-President of India.

  • The Election Commission of India is a permanent constitutional body that was established on January 25th, 1950, in accordance with the Constitution. In 2001, the Commission celebrated its Golden Jubilee.
  • At first, the commission consisted of only one Chief Election Commissioner. However, it now consists of one Chief Election Commissioner and two Election Commissioners.
  • Two extra Commissioners were first appointed on October 16th, 1989, but their tenure was brief, lasting only until January 1st, 1990. Two additional Election Commissioners were appointed on October 1st, 1993, and the concept of a multi-member Commission has been in operation since then, allowing for decision-making power by a majority vote.
  • Tenure: The President appoints the Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioners, who have a tenure of six years or until the age of 65, whichever comes first. 
    • They are entitled to the same status, salary, and benefits as Judges of the Supreme Court of India. The Chief Election Commissioner can only be removed from office through impeachment by Parliament.


Answer: Rajiv Kumar

Answer: 5 states: Chhattisgarh, MP, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Telangana

Answer: Under Article 324

Answer: Six years or until the age of 65

Answer: President
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.