Home > Current Affairs > National > Admiral Dinesh Tripathi take charge as 26th Naval Chief

Admiral Dinesh Tripathi take charge as 26th Naval Chief

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 01-05-2024
Admiral Dinesh Tripathi take charge as 26th Naval Chief Appointment 5 min read

Admiral Dinesh Kumar Tripathi assumed office as the 26th Chief of Naval Staff (CNS) on 30 April 2024.  Admiral Dinesh Tripathi took the place of Admiral R.Hari Kumar, who demitted his office on 29 April 2024. 

About Dinesh Kumar Tripathi 

Admiral Dinesh Kumar Tripathi is an alumnus of Sainik School Rewa, Madhya Pradesh and the National Defence Academy. He was commissioned in the Indian Navy in 1985.

He rose through the ranks to become the Commander of the Western Naval Command before becoming the vice-admiral (vice-chief) of the Indian Navy in June 2019. He was also made the commandant of the prestigious Indian Naval Academy at Ezhimala, Kerala. He was the director general of naval operations from July 2020 to May 2021.

Admiral Dinesh Tripathi is a specialist in electronics and communication warfare. He has served on the Navy’s guided missile destroyer INS Mumbai as an executive officer and principal warfare officer.

He graduated from the Defence Services Staff College, Wellington, Tamil Nadu, and attended the Naval Higher Command Course and the Naval Command College at the US Naval War College, Newport, Rhode Island.

About Indian Navy 

The Indian Navy is one of the three armed forces of India, the other being the Army and Air Force. 

It is responsible for guarding the maritime boundary and its maritime interests.

The Indian Navy is under the administrative control of the Ministry of Defence, government of India. The President of India is the chief commander of the armed forces, including the Indian Navy.

History of the Indian Navy 

The British established the modern Indian Navy as the Royal Indian Navy on 2 October 1934. On 26 January 1950, the Indian constitution was promulgated, and the Royal Indian Navy was renamed the Indian Navy.

Admiral Sir Edward Parry was the first Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Navy. The post of Commander in Chief was changed to Chief of Naval Staff in 1955, and the first chief of Naval staff was Admiral Sir Edward Parry.

Vice Admiral RD Katari assumed office as the first Indian Chief of the Naval Staff on 22 April 1958.

Command Structure of the Indian Navy 

The Indian Navy has three commands, and it is part of the Tri-Service Command with the Army and the Air Force.

The Indian Navy has two operational Commands: Western Command, with its headquarters in Mumbai, and Eastern Command, located in Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh.

The Indian Navy’s Southern Naval Command is the Training Command of the Indian Navy.

 The Naval Command is headed by an officer of the rank of Vice-Admiral designated as the ‘Flag Officer Commander-in-Chief’.

The Indian Navy is part of the Tri-Service Command, which is based in Port Blair, Andaman and Nicobar. The Tri Command is headed by a commander-in-chief, who is appointed on rotation from the three forces. 

The Indian Navy's major bases are located in Mumbai, Goa, Karwar, Kochi, Chennai, Visakhapatnam, Kolkata, and Port Blair. 

Fleets of the Indian Navy 

The Indian Navy has two fleets, Eastern and Western. A naval fleet is a group of ships, submarines, etc. that operate under one authority. 

The Indian Navy’s Western Fleet is based in Mumbai, and the Eastern Fleet is based in Visakhapatnam. 


Answer: Admiral Dinesh Kumar Tripathi

Answer: President of India

Answer: Mumbai

Answer: R D Katari

Answer: 8 December

Answer: Ezhimala, Kerala.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.