Home > Current Affairs > National > Two-day Regional Conference on PESA Act Will start In Ranchi, Jharkhand

Two-day Regional Conference on PESA Act Will start In Ranchi, Jharkhand

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 02-03-2024
Two-day Regional Conference on PESA Act Will start In Ranchi, Jharkhand Summit and Conference 4 min read

A regional conference focused on the Strengthening of Panchayats (Extension to Scheduled Areas) Act, also known as the PESA Act, is set to occur on the 4th and 5th March in Ranchi, Jharkhand. 

  • The Panchayati Raj, in collaboration with the Department of Panchayati Raj of Jharkhand, is organizing the conference. Vivek Bharadwaj, Secretary of the Central Ministry, will inaugurate the event.
  • The Regional Conference on PESA will bring together State Departments of Panchayati Raj, Tribal Development, Forest, Revenue, and Excise from Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Odisha, and Telangana to assess the progress made in implementing PESA and promote a common understanding of its impact at the grassroots level.
  • The conference will feature structured sessions on important topics such as the effectiveness of Gram Sabhas in PESA Areas and their role in improving quality of life, the involvement of non-government stakeholders in bolstering PESA implementation, and the enforcement of the Forest Rights Act in PESA areas.
  • These sessions have been thoughtfully designed to address pressing issues and facilitate meaningful discussions.

What is the PESA Act?

The purpose of the PESA Act, which was established back in 1996, was to extend the provisions outlined in Part IX of the Constitution that pertain to the Panchayats to the Scheduled Areas. 

It is important to note that Part IX encompasses Articles 243-243ZT, which specifically address municipalities and cooperative societies.


As per the Act, the Scheduled Areas are those mentioned in Article 244(1). 

This article specifies that the Scheduled Tribes and Scheduled Areas in states other than Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram shall be governed by the provisions of the Fifth Schedule. 

The Fifth Schedule lays down various special provisions for these areas. 

Currently, ten states have identified Fifth Schedule areas that encompass several districts, either partially or completely. These states are Madhya Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Odisha, Rajasthan, and Telangana.


The objective is to establish self-governance among the inhabitants of Scheduled Areas through Gram Sabhas or village assemblies. This approach acknowledges the tribal communities' right to self-determination and reinforces their traditional rights over natural resources. Gram Sabhas are empowered to take charge of approving development plans and regulating all social sectors, making them a crucial player in the process.


Answer: PESA Act was enacted on 24 December 1996

Answer: Ranchi, Jharkhand

Answer: 10 states

Answer: 73rd Amendment Act
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.