Home > Current Affairs > State > NBCC to decide on five castes of Andhra Pradesh

NBCC to decide on five castes of Andhra Pradesh

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 14-03-2024
NBCC to decide on five castes of Andhra Pradesh State news 4 min read

The National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC) has held a public hearing on the subject in New Delhi to include five castes of the state of Andhra Pradesh in the central list of backward classes.

A public hearing was held at the New Maharashtra Sadan Conference Hall for adding the five castes Turupukapus, Sistakarnam, Kalinga Komati/Kalinga Vyas, Sondi/Sundi and Aarav in the list of Central Backward Classes received from the Government of Andhra Pradesh.

  • The Commission expressed displeasure towards the State Government over the absence of the Chief Secretary or Additional Chief Secretary or any Secretary level officer of Andhra Pradesh during the public hearing.
  • Along with this, while preventing the present director level officer from attending the public hearing, the Commission, keeping in mind the reputation of the public representatives and representatives of the respective castes, conducted the public hearing and heard all the parties in a cordial atmosphere.
  • Some information and documents were sought from the state government within a week, after which orders were given to carry out the next process.

National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC):

  • After independence, the government had appointed two Backward Class Commissions in the year 1950 and 1970 under the chairmanship of Kaka Kalelkar (Kaka Kalelkar Commission was the first Backward Class Commission of the country) and BP Mandal respectively.
  • In the Indra Sawhney case of 1992, the Supreme Court directed the government to constitute a permanent body to consider the inclusion and exclusion of all backward classes.
  • In compliance with these directions of the Supreme Court, Parliament passed the National Commission for Backward Classes Act in the year 1993 and constituted the National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC).

Steps taken by the government for the welfare of backward classes:

  • To more effectively protect the interests of backward classes, the 123rd Constitution Amendment Bill was introduced in Parliament in the year 2017.
  • NCBC was granted constitutional status after Presidential approval in August 2018. That is, NCBC was given constitutional status by the 102nd Constitutional Amendment Act, 2018.
  • NCBC is empowered to investigate complaints and welfare measures regarding socially and educationally backward classes.
  • Earlier NCBC was a statutory body under the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment.

Structure of NCBC:

  • The NCBC consists of five members, including a Chairman, Vice Chairman and three other members.
  • Their service conditions and tenure are determined by the President. Also, their appointment is made with the consent of the President.


Ans. - Andhra Pradesh

Ans. - Kaka Kalelkar

Ans. - 102nd Constitutional Amendment Act, 2018

Ans. - Five members (a Chairman, Vice Chairman and three other members)

Ans. - President
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.