Home > Current Affairs > National > CJI launches 'SuSwagatam' portal for e-passes to enter Supreme Court

CJI launches 'SuSwagatam' portal for e-passes to enter Supreme Court

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 14-03-2024
CJI launches 'SuSwagatam' portal for e-passes to enter Supreme Court Portal 5 min read

The Chief Justice of India (CJI) Justice Dr Justice Dhananjaya Yashwant  Chandrachud  announced the launch of portal 'SuSwagatam' on 9 August 2023. 

SuSwagatam' is a web based and mobile friendly application that allows users to register themselves online and request for e-passes for various purposes such as attending court hearings, meeting advocates.

Justice Chandrachud said, "The 'SuSwagatam' portal was tested as a pilot project since July 25, 2023 and has received positive feedback from the users." He said that as on August 9, more than 10,000 e-passes have been issued through the portal on a pilot basis.

Till now if anybody wanted to enter the Supreme Court they had to get an entry pass issued  at the Supreme Court .

The SuSwagatam' has been launched to simplify visitor management at the apex court for advocates, litigants, citizens and all stakeholders.

The  ‘SuSwagatam' will enable advocates, litigants, interns and others to register themselves online and request for e-passes to enter the apex court.

About Supreme Court 

The Constitution of India which was promulgated on 26 January 1950 provides for a setting up of a Supreme Court of India (article 124). On the 28th of January 1950 the Supreme Court  of India came into being.

The  Supreme Court of India was earlier known as the Federal Court of India which was set up in 1937 under the Government of India Act 1935.  

Strength of the Supreme Court 

The Parliament has the power to increase the strength of the Supreme Court .Originally the Supreme Court  had 7 judges and one Chief Justice .

Parliament by passing various laws increased the number of Judges from 8 in 1950 to 11 in 1956, 14 in 1960, 18 in 1978, 26 in 1986, 31 in 2009 and 34 in 2019 (current strength).

Qualification to be a judge of Supreme Court 

The Judges including the Chief Justice of India  are  appointed by the President of India. In order to be appointed as a Judge of the Supreme Court the person must have the following qualifications; 

  • The  person must be a citizen of India ,

  • must have been, for at least five years, a Judge of a High Court of two or more such Courts in succession, 


  • an Advocate of a High Court or of two or more such Courts in succession for at least 10 years


  •  he must be, in the opinion of the President, a distinguished jurist. 

Term of Supreme Court Judges  including the CJI 

Supreme Court Judges retire upon attaining the age of 65 years. 

Language used in Supreme Court 

The proceedings of the Supreme Court are conducted in English only.

First Chief Justice of India : Chief Justice Harilal J.Kania 

Current  and 50th CJI : Justice DY Chandrachud.

Important full form for exam

CJI- Chief Justice of India

Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.