Home > Current Affairs > State > Champawat, Pithoragarh District Included in Swadesh Darshan Yojana 2.0

Champawat, Pithoragarh District Included in Swadesh Darshan Yojana 2.0

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 14-03-2024
Champawat, Pithoragarh District Included in Swadesh Darshan Yojana 2.0 Uttar Pradesh 7 min read

The Ministry of Tourism, Government of India, has included Champawat and Pithoragarh, two border districts of Uttarakhand, in the Swadesh Darshan 2.0 scheme. 

  • This initiative aims to promote tourism activities and develop these areas from a tourism perspective, providing basic facilities to visitors.
  • In fact, after joining Swadesh Darshan 2.0, these remote districts of Uttarakhand will be able to connect with the mainstream of development through tourism.
  • However, there is immense potential for tourism in Pithoragarh district because this district is equipped with mountains, rivers, waterfalls and high hills. 
  • The tourists coming here like this thing very much. At present, Gunji has been included in the Swadesh Darshan Scheme, where development work in the field of tourism is to be done for Rs 75 crore.

About Swadesh Darshan Scheme

The Swadesh Darshan Scheme, a Central Sector Scheme, has been introduced by the Ministry of Tourists of the Government of India for the integrated development of theme-based tourist circuits. The initiative aims to develop, broaden, and maximize the potential of India's tourism sector. This website will detail the purpose, significance, and other aspects of the Swadesh Darshan Scheme.

  • This initiative should work alongside programs like Swachh Bharat Abhiyan, Skill India, and Make in India to fully utilize tourism's potential and establish it as a key contributor to job creation and economic growth.

Swadesh Darshan – 15 Circuits Based on a Theme

  • The Buddha Circuit includes Buddhist travellers' most important pilgrimage destinations. The provinces covered are Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, and Andhra Pradesh.
  • The Coastal Circuit will strengthen India's reputation as the "Sun, Sea, and Surf" land. India's littoral comprises Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Kerala, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, and West Bengal, among other states. The coastal circuit includes the Andaman and Nicobar Islands as well.
  • A specialized tourism circuit in India, the desert circuit attracts international tourists. India is also endowed with expansive deserts and abundant rivers and forests. The dunes and exceptionally high temperatures of the Thar Desert, the arid plains of Kutch, and the dry, chilly valleys of Ladakh and Himachal Pradesh also attract many visitors.
  • The Eco Circuit focuses on developing eco-friendly and natural sites in states like Kerala, Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh, Telangana, Mizoram, and Jharkhand. 
  • The Heritage Circuit includes 36 UNESCO World Heritage sites. It aims to preserve and enhance cultural heritage in Rajasthan, Assam, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Puducherry, Punjab, Uttrakhand, Madhya Pradesh, and Telangana.
  • The North East Circuit promotes tourism development in states like Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura, and Sikkim. 
  • The Himalayan Circuit spans the northern border of India and includes states like Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, and the North-East area. 
  • The Sufi Circuit celebrates the country's Sufi practices and the saints who preached unity in diversity and developed their distinct music, art, and culture. 
  • The Krishna Circuit is associated with religious tourism and has contributed to the growth of prominent tourist destinations. 
  • The Ramayana Circuit focuses on locations associated with Lord Rama stories and is centered around Uttar Pradesh. 
  • The Rural Circuit aims to revitalize rural economies while providing tourists with an authentic experience of India. 
  • The Tirthankar Circuit commemorates the lives and teachings of the Jain Tirthankaras, who spread the message of peace, love, and enlightenment through various shrines nationwide.
  • India is a popular destination for wildlife tourism due to its diverse range of wildlife. The country has implemented sustainable, ecological, and nature-centric development plans for national and state wildlife preserves and sanctuaries. Assam and Madhya Pradesh are currently the focus of these efforts. Please follow the provided link for more information on the Wildlife Protection Act of 1972.
  • The tribal circuits aim to provide modern travelers with an intimate and personal experience of India's vibrant tribal traditions. These circuits cover the states of Chhattisgarh, Nagaland, and Telangana and include festivals, craftsmanship, art, rituals, and more.
  • India, known as "The land of Spirituality," attracts over 330 million people annually who travel for spiritual purposes. As the birthplace of four major religions - Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, and Sikhism - and a welcoming home to various other religious beliefs, India is a must-visit destination for spiritual tourists worldwide. To accommodate these visitors, tourist facilities are necessary throughout the country. The states in the spotlight for the spiritual circuit include Kerala, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Bihar, Rajasthan, and Puducherry.


Answer: Ministry of Tourists

Answer: Champawat and Pithoragarh districts

Answer 15
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.