Home > Current Affairs > National > UK Security Minister Tom Tugendhat's visit to India

UK Security Minister Tom Tugendhat's visit to India

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 27-02-2024
UK Security Minister Tom Tugendhat's visit to India Summit and Conference 3 min read

At the G-20 Anti-Corruption Ministerial meeting in Kolkata, United Kingdom (UK) Security Secretary Tom Tugendhat and Indian counterpart Jitendra Singh had a bilateral meeting. 

They aimed to strengthen cooperation between their nations.

Key Points:

  • Minister Tugendhat was joined by a British delegation, and both sides emphasized their commitment to transparency and anti-corruption efforts.

  • Dr. Jitendra Singh highlighted the shared goal of establishing a corruption-free society and called for increased collaboration in Information and Communication Technology (ICT) innovations, cross-sector cooperation, and anti-corruption partnerships.

  • Minister Tugendhat reiterated the UK's stance that India, as a signatory to the United Nations Convention Against Corruption (UNCAC), should implement Article 16 addressing bribery of foreign government officials.

  • He also encouraged India to join the OECD Convention on Combating Bribery of Foreign Government Officials, of which the UK is a member.

  • Dr Jitendra Singh affirmed India's ratification of the UNCAC. India's presidency of the G-20, starting in December 2022 under Prime Minister Modi's leadership, emphasized global cooperation in tackling corruption issues based on the principle of 'Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam'.

  • India's efforts towards transparency included e-governance adoption, Aadhaar system implementation for Direct Benefit Transfer, procurement reforms, and the Citizen's Charter in public offices.

  • India actively participates in the G-20 Anti-Corruption Working Group (ACWG) Forum, which has achieved notable progress in combating corruption globally.

  • Under India's leadership, the G20 ACWG has adopted high-level principles and conducted successful working group meetings, promoting international cooperation and accountability in the fight against corruption.

United Kingdom (UK):

  • The United Kingdom is a developed country located on the northwest coast of Europe.
  • The United Kingdom includes Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
  • Whereas England, Scotland and Wales are under Great Britain.
  • So the UK includes England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales.
  • The United Kingdom is a constitutional monarchy and unitary state consisting of four countries: England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales.
  • It is governed by a parliamentary system with London as its capital. It has three devolved national administrations, Belfast, Cardiff and Edinburgh, the capitals of Northern Ireland, Wales and Scotland respectively.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.