Home > Current Affairs > National > Om Birla elected as the speaker of the 18th Lok Sabha

Om Birla elected as the speaker of the 18th Lok Sabha

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 26-06-2024
Om Birla elected as the speaker of the 18th Lok Sabha Person in News 12 min read

Om Birla, a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate, was re-elected speaker of the 18th Lok Sabha on 26 June 2024. He was elected by voice vote after the opposition party did not press for the counting of votes.

Om Birla was also the speaker of the 17th Lok Sabha. Om Birla is the 17th person to be elected as the Speaker of the Lok Sabha.

Election for Speaker of 18th Lok Sabha 

By convention, the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha are chosen by consensus between the ruling and opposition parties. However, this time, the ruling NDA and the Congress Party-led INDIA block failed to reach a consensus. The Congress party wanted to support an NDA candidate for the Speaker post only if the ruling party agreed to the Deputy Speaker from the opposition party.

The NDA government, led by Narendra Modi, declined to accept the opposition's demand. The Opposition candidate was K.Suresh of the Congress Party. He is an eight-time Lok Sabha member from Kerala who currently represents the Mavelikara constituency.

This is the third time that an election to elect the Speaker of the Lok Sabha has been held in the Lok Sabha. 

Past Instances of Election of Lok Sabha Speaker 

  • The first time election for the post of Lok Sabha Speaker was held in 1952 to elect the first Lok Sabha Speaker. The ruling Congress party candidate was Ganesh Vasudev Mavlankar, and the opposition candidate was Shantaram More. Mavlankar defeated Shantaram More by 394 to 55 votes. The first Lok Sabha had 489 members.
  • The second time the contest for the Lok Sabha speaker post was held in 1967 during the fourth Lok Sabha. The ruling Congress Party candidate, Neelam Sanjiva  Reddy, defeated opposition candidate Tenneti Viswanathan. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy secured g 278 votes to 207 of Tenneti Viswanathan.
  • The third election for the Lok Sabha speaker was held during the fifth Lok Sabha. The fifth Lok Sabha duration was to end in 1976 but it was extended by one year till 1977 following the imposition of national emergency in the country by Indira Gandhi in 1975 under Article 352 of the constitution. The Parliament has the power to extend the life of the Lok Sabha by one year when the national emergency is in force under Article 352. 
  • The incumbent Lok Sabha speaker, Gurdial Singh Dhillon, resigned after being made a minister in the Indira Gandhi government. To fill the vacant post of Speaker, the ruling party put up Baliram Bhagat as its candidate, while the opposition candidate was Jagannath Rao Joshi. Baliram Bhagat was elected Speaker after polling 344 votes to Jagannath Rao Joshi's 58 votes.

About Om Birla 

A three-time member of Lok Sabha, Om Birla was elected from the Kota constituency of Rajasthan in the 2014,2019 and 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

He became the Speaker of the 17th Lok Sabha in 2019 and has been reelected for the second time as the speaker of the Lok Sabha,

He is the fifth person to hold the office of Lok Sabha speaker twice. 

Speakers of the Lok Sabha 

According to Article 93 of the constitution, members of the Lok Sabha are to elect a Speaker and a Deputy Speaker from among the members of the House. The Speaker and Deputy Speaker are elected by a simple majority. 

A simple majority means the majority of the members in the house are present at the time of voting.

List of Lok Sabha Speakers to Date

The following is the list of the persons who have held the office of the Speaker of the Lok Sabha, their tenure, and the constituency they represented.

Serial No. 


Lok Sabha 



Lok Sabha Constituency and State  


Ganesh Vasudev Mavlankar

1st  Lok Sabha (1952-57)

15 May 1952-27 February 1956

Indian National Congress 

Ahmedabad (Gujarat) 


Madhabhushi Ananthasayanam 


1st Lok Sabha


2nd Lok Sabha (1957-62)

8 March 1956- 4 April 1957.

5 April 1957-31

March 1962

Indian National Congress


(Andhra Pradesh)


Hukum Singh 

3rd Lok Sabha (1962-67)

17 April 1962-

16 March 1967

Indian National Congress




Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 

4th Lok Sabha (1967-71)

17 March 1967-19 July 1979

Indian National Congress


(Andhra Pradesh)


Gurdial Singh Dhillon 

4th Lok Sabha 

8 August 1969 -17 March 1971 

Indian National Congress (R)

Tarn Taran



Gurdial Singh Dhillon 

5th Lok Sabha (1971-1977)

22 March 1971- 

1 December 1975

Indian National Congress (R)


Tarn Taran (Punjab)


Bali Ram Bhagat 

5th  Lok Sabha 

15 January-26 March 1977

Indian National Congress





Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 

6th Lok Sabha (1977-1980)

26 March -13 July 1977

Janata party 

Nandyal (Andhra Pradesh)



6th Lok Sabha

21 July 1977-21 January 1980

Janata Party 

Bangalore South



Balram Jakhar 

7th Lok Sabha (1980-84)

22 January 1980-15 January 1985.

Congress Party (Indira)

Ferozepur (Punjab)


Balram Jakhar

8th Lok Sabha (1984-1989)

16 January 1980- 18 December 1989

Congress Party (Indira)

Sikar (Rajasthan)


Rabi Ray 

9th Lok Sabha (1989-91 )

19 December 1989-

9 July 1991

Janata Dal 




Shivraj Patil 

10th Lok Sabha

10 July 1991-

22 May 1996

Congress Party (Indira)

Latur (Maharashtra)


Purno Agitok Sangma 

11th  Lok Sabha 

23 May 1996 -23 March 1998

Congress Party (Indira)

Tura (Meghalaya)


G.M.C. Balayogi

12th Lok Sabha 

24 March 1998-19 October 1999

Telugu Desam 


 (Andhra Pradesh)


G.M.C. Balayogi

13th  Lok Sabha 

22 October 1999- 3 March 2002

Telugu Desam


 (Andhra Pradesh)


Manohar Joshi 

13th Lok Sabha

10 May 2002 -02 June 2004

Shiv Sena 

Mumbai North Central


Somnath Chatterjee

14th Lok Sabha 

4 June 2004-31 May 2009


Bolpur (West Bengal)


Meira Kumar 

15th Lok Sabha 

4 June 2009 -4 June 2014

Congress Party (Indira)




Sumitra Mahajan 

16th Lok Sabha 

6 June 2014 -17 June 2019 



(Madhya Pradesh)


Om Birla 

17th  Lok Sabha 

19 June 2019 -24 June 2024



(Rajasthan )


Om Birla 

18th Lok Sabha 

26 June 2024-


Kota (Rajasthan)

Unique Points to Remember about the Lok Sabha Speaker 

  • There is no provision of any oath for the office of the Speaker or the Deputy Speaker. 
  • Ganesh Vasudev Mavlankar was the first Speaker of the Lok Sabha.
  • Five persons have been the Lok Sabha Speaker twice: Dr. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy, Gurdial Singh Dhillon, Balram Jakhar, G.M.C Balayogi, and Om Birla.
  • The first person to be unanimously elected as the Speaker was Madabhushi Ananthasayanam Ayyangar.
  • Purno Sangma was the first opposition party candidate to be elected speaker of the Lok Sabha. He belonged to the Congress party in 1996, and the United Front government led by Janata Dal was in power.
  • G.M.C Balayogi of the Telugu Desam Party is the youngest and first Dalit person to become the Speaker of the Lok Sabha.
  • K.S. Hedge was the first and only former Supreme Court Judge to hold the Lok Sabha Speaker post.
  • Dr Neelam Sanjiva Reddy is the only Speaker who resigned from his party after becoming Lok Sabha Speaker in 1977. He belonged to the Janata party.
  • Dr Neelam Sanjiva Reddy is the only Lok Sabha Speaker to be elected as the President of India.
  • Meira  Kumar of the Congress (Indira) party is the first woman to be the Speaker of the Lok Sabha.
  • Longest tenure as a Speaker: Balram Jakhar over 9 years
  • Shortest tenure as Speaker: Neelam Sanjiva Reddy, around 109 days in 1977.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.