Home > Current Affairs > National > Three New Members Sworn to the Lokpal of India

Three New Members Sworn to the Lokpal of India

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 13-03-2024
Three New Members Sworn to the Lokpal of India Appointment 4 min read

India's Lokpal swears in 3 new members, now at full strength with 9 including Chairperson Justice Ajay Manikrao Khanwilkar.

  • Judicial Member
    • Shri Justice Lingappa Narayana Swamy
    • Shri Justice Sanjay Yadav
  • Member
    • Shri Sushil Chandra
  • Prior to his appointment as a Judicial Member of Lokpal of India, Shri Justice Lingappa Narayana Swamy served as the Chief Justice of Himachal Pradesh High Court and as a former Judge of the Karnataka High Court. 
  • Similarly, Shri Justice Sanjay Yadav also joined Lokpal of India as a Judicial Member after serving as the Chief Justice of the Allahabad HC and as a former Judge of the Madhya Pradesh High Court. 
  • Shri Sushil Chandra, a 1980 batch IRS (IT) officer, assumed the role of Member of Lokpal of India after completing his tenure as the 24th Chief Election Commissioner of India and previously serving as the Chairperson of the Central Board of Direct Taxes.

With the addition of three new members, the Lokpal of India now has nine members including the Chairperson, reaching its full strength.

About Lokpal 

  • On December 17, 2013, the Lokpal and Lokayuktas Bill, 2011 was passed by the Parliament. Following the Hon'ble President's assent, the Lokpal and Lokayuktas Act, 2013 was notified on January 1, 2014, and became effective on January 16, 2014. Since its notification, the Act has been amended once in 2016. The Lokpal's duty is to investigate corruption allegations against public functionaries within the Act's scope and jurisdiction.


The Lokpal is a committee of nine members, including a chairperson and four judicial members. 

Their tenure is five years or until they turn 70, whichever is earlier.


The Lokpal possesses the power to investigate allegations of corruption against individuals occupying certain positions within the government such as the prime minister, Union government ministers, Parliament members, and officials of Groups A, B, C, and D. Additionally, the scope of jurisdiction extends to cover the chairpersons, officers, members, and directors of any board, corporation, society, trust, or autonomous body established by an Act of Parliament or receiving partial or full funding from the central or state government.

Justice Khanwilkar is the second Lokpal in India, whereas Pinaki Chandra Ghose retired in May 2022 after serving a two-year tenure as the first Lokpal of India.


Answer: The President of India

Answer: Pinaki Chandra Ghose

Answer: Lokpal and Lokayuktas Act, 2013

Answer: Five years or until they attain the age of 70 years whichever is earlier.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.