Home > Current Affairs > International > Real Madrid lifts the Champions LeagueTrophy for the 15th time

Real Madrid lifts the Champions LeagueTrophy for the 15th time

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 03-06-2024
Real Madrid lifts the Champions LeagueTrophy for the 15th time Sport 4 min read

The Spanish football giant Real Madrid defeated Borussia Dortmund, the German football club, 2-0 in the final to win the 2023-24 UEFA Champions League for the 15th time. This also marks the end of the European domestic professional football season 2023-24. The 2023-24 UEFA Champions League final was played at Wembley, England, on 1 June 2024. This was the third Champions League final to be hosted by Wembley Stadium, having hosted the 2011-12,2013-14 and 2023-24 editions.

15th Champions League title for Real Madrid 

The Spanish La Liga winner Real Madrid was appearing in the UEFA Champions League for the 18th time. Dani Carvajal and Vinicius Junior were the goal scorers for the Real Madrid side in the final. 

Real Madrid football club, which is also popularly called Los Blancos, has now won the European Cup/Champions League titles in 1955–1956, 1956–1957, 1957–58, 1958–59, 1959–60, 1965–66, 1997–1998, 1999–2000, 2001–2002, 2013–14, 2015–16, 2016–17, 2017–18, 2021–2022 and 2023-24.

About the UEFA Champions League 

The UEFA Champions League started as the European Champion Clubs’ Cup in the 1955-56 season. 16 teams participated in the inaugural European Champion Clubs’ Cup, which was won by Real Madrid, beating Stade de Reims football club of France. In the 1992-93 season, the trophy was renamed the UEFA Champions League (UCL).

The Champions League is the top European tournament for European professional club-based tournaments. 

32 teams participated in the 2023-24 UEFA Champions League; however, 36 teams participated in the 2024-25 season.

Winners of the Champions League 

Spanish teams have been the most successful in the tournament, having won it 20 times.

In second place are the English teams having won the championship 14 times, while the Italian teams have won the competition 12 times.

Amongst the football clubs, Real Madrid has won it 15 times, 

AC Milan of Italy has won it seven times, and Liverpool of England has won it six times 

About Union of European Football Association (UEFA)

The Union of European Football Association (UEFA) was formed on 15 June 1954 as the governing body of football in Europe. It launched the European Championship, now known as the Euro Cup, for the European National teams and the European Champion Clubs’ Cup for the professional club teams.

Members: 55 country’s National football association of Europe

Israel, which is an Asian country, has been a member of the UEFA since 1994

Headquarters: Nyon, Switzerland

President: Aleksander Čeferi


Answer: Real Madrid of Spain defeated Borussia Dortmund of Germany in the final.

Answer: Real Madrid 15 times.

Answer: Spain. The Spanish club has won it 20 times.

Answer: The European Champion Clubs’ Cup, which started in 1955-56.

Answer: Nyon, Switzerland

Answer: Germany

Answer: Wembley Stadium, England

Answer: Real Madrid of Spain.
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.