Home > Current Affairs > International > India lost to New Zealand to remain in Group1 of Billie Jean King Cup

India lost to New Zealand to remain in Group1 of Billie Jean King Cup

Utkarsh Classes Last Updated 15-04-2024
India lost to New Zealand to remain in Group1 of Billie Jean King Cup Sport 7 min read

The Indian women's tennis team failed to qualify for the 2024 2024 Billie Jean King Cup playoffs by finishing third in the Asia/Oceania Group I. In their last match, they lost to the New Zealand team 2-1. The Asia/Oceania Group 1 match was held on 12-13 April at the Moon Island Clay Park in Changsha, the People’s Republic of China.

India finishes third, China & South Korea Qualify for World Playoff

The Indian team lost their crucial tie against New Zealand.  In the match against New Zealand, world no 379 ranked  Rutuja Bhosale defeated world No. 632 Monique Barry of New Zealand in the first singles. However, world No. 255 Ankita Raina lost her singles match against world No. 169 Lulu Sun. Ankita Raina and Prarthana Thombare lost to Erin Routliffe and Paige Hourigan, a pair of New Zealanders, in the doubles match. With this loss, India’s chances to progress to the world play-off evaporated.

India finished third in the Asia/ Oceania Group 1 with three wins and two defeats. It lost to China 3-0 and New Zealand 2-1. However, it won its ties against Pacific Oceania 3-0, Chinese Taipei 2-1, and South Korea with a 2-1 margin.

Six Teams in the Group 1 of Asia/Oceania 

The Asia/Oceania group included six teams: China, South Korea, India, New Zealand, Chinese Taipei (Taiwan), and Pacific Oceania.

China and South Korea finished as the top two teams in the group and qualified for the 2024 Billie Jean King Cup Play-offs.

India finished Third, and New Zealand fourth.  Chinese Taipei (Taiwan) and Pacific Oceania, at the bottom of Group I, have been relegated to Asia/Oceania Group II.

Billie Jean King Cup 

The Billie Jean King Cup is organised every year by the International Tennis Federation and is considered equivalent to the men’s Davis Cup.

The Billie Jean King Cup was launched as the Federation Cup in 1963 on the 50th anniversary of the International Tennis Federation. It was later renamed the Fed Cup (1995-2020). The Fed Cup in 2020 was renamed as the Billie Jean King Cup. 


Since 2020, the Billie Jean King Cup has followed the current format. The world's top 12 teams compete in the final events. The previous year’s champion, the previous year’s runners-up, the host nation, and a wild card nation automatically qualify for the finals. They are joined by the eight winners of the 2024 Qualifiers round.

The Qualifiers round consists of 16 teams. It includes eight teams from the previous year (2023) ranked 3-12  and eight who won the Playoff rounds of 2024. The eight winning teams will play in the finals of 2024, and the eight bottom-ranked teams will play in the 2025 Playoffs.

The winning nations competed in the Billie Jean King Cup Qualifiers the following year, while the losing nations competed in Group I events.

Group stage match 

The three regions, Americas, Asia/Oceania and Europe/Africa, are divided into groups.

In the Americas, Asia, and Oceania, there are two groups, Group I and II, with Group I being the highest-ranked. The Europe/Africa region has three groups: I, II, and III.

Finalist of the 2024 Billie Jean King Cup 2024

The 2024 Billie Jean King Cup final will be held in Seville, Spain, from November 12 to 17, 2024.

The 12 teams that will play in the 2024 Billie Jean King Cup final are Spain(host country), Canada (2023 champion), Italy (2023 runner-up), Czechia (wild card entry), Australia, Great Britain, Italy, Japan, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, and the USA.

Billie Jean King 

  • Billie Jean King is considered an all-time great of women's tennis. She is an American citizen who has won 39 Grand Slam titles.
  • Between 1961-1979, Billie Jean King won 20 Wimbledon titles, 13 U.S. titles, four French titles, and two Australian titles.
  • In 1966, she became the world's first 1-ranked women’s tennis player.
  • She defeated male tennis player Bobby Riggs in 1973’s “Battle of the Sexes. 
  • She also played a key role in establishing the Women’s Tennis Association, which oversees women’s professional tennis.


Answer: It is an annual team women's tennis event. Canada is the 2023 champion.

Answer: Changsha, the People’s Republic of China

Answer: China and South Korea. India failed to qualify for the playoff stage.

Answer: She is an Indian women's tennis player

Answer: Seville, Spain, in November 2024
Leave a Review

Utkarsh Classes

Download India's Best Educational App

With the trust and confidence that our students have placed in us, the Utkarsh Mobile App has become India’s Best Educational App on the Google Play Store. We are striving to maintain the legacy by updating unique features in the app for the facility of our aspirants.